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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING FORM 502 
VIRGINIA PASS-THROUGH ENTITY INCOME TAX RETURNS FOR 2016

What’s New 

Advancement of Virginia’s Fixed Date Conformity with the Internal Revenue Code
Virginia’s date of conformity with the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) was advanced from December 31, 2014 to 
December 31, 2015, with limited exceptions. Virginia will continue to deconform from the bonus depreciation 
allowed for certain assets under federal law; the five-year carryback of certain federal net operating loss (NOL) 
deductions generated in Taxable Year 2008 or 2009; the federal income tax treatment of applicable high yield 
discount obligations; and the federal income tax treatment of cancellation of debt income realized in connection 
with certain business debts.
At the time these instructions went to print, the only required fixed date conformity adjustments were those 
mentioned above. However, if legislation is enacted that results in changes to the IRC for the 2016 taxable year, 
taxpayers may need to make adjustments to their Virginia returns that are not described in these instructions. 
Information about any such adjustments will be posted on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov.

Tax Credit for Food Crop Donation to a Nonprofit Food Bank
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016, but before January 1, 2022, a tax credit is allowed 
for taxpayers that are engaged in the business of farming for growing food crops in the Commonwealth and 
donating such crops to a nonprofit food bank. The amount of the credit is equal 30% of the fair market value of 
such crops. No taxpayer is permitted to claim more than $5,000 in credits for a taxable year. This credit is subject 
to a $250,000 annual credit cap.
To the extent a credit is allowed for growing food crops in the Commonwealth and donating such crops to a 
nonprofit food bank, an addition is required for any amount claimed by the taxpayer as a federal income tax 
deduction for such donation.

Modified Method of Apportionment for Taxpayers with Enterprise Data Center Operations
A taxpayer with an enterprise data center operation that enters into a memorandum of understanding with the 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership Authority (“VEDP”) to make a new capital investment of at least $150 
million in an enterprise data center in Virginia is required to apportion Virginia taxable income using a single sales 
factor method of apportionment. This modified method of apportionment is phased in as follows: 

•	 From July 1, 2016 until July 1, 2017, qualifying taxpayers are required to use a quadruple-weighted sales 
factor; and 

•	 From July 1, 2017, and thereafter, qualifying taxpayers are required to use the single sales factor method of 
apportionment. 

Changes to Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016, several changes were made to the existing Research 
and Development Expenses Tax Credit. Such changes include increasing the annual credit cap from $6 million 
to $7 million; increasing the amount of credits each taxpayer may claim; allowing a taxpayer to determine the 
credit using a simplified method in lieu of the primary statutory method; extending the sunset date for the credit 
from taxable years beginning before January 1, 2019 to taxable years beginning before January 1, 2022; and 
prohibiting a taxpayer from claiming both this credit and the new Major Research and Development Expenses 
Tax Credit for the same taxable year.

Major Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit 
Taxpayers with Virginia qualified research and development expenses in excess of $5 million for a taxable year 
may claim the new Major Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit. The amount of the credit is equal 
to 10% of the difference between the Virginia qualified research and development expenses paid or incurred 
by the taxpayer during the taxable year; and 50% of the average Virginia qualified research and development 
expenses paid or incurred by the taxpayer for the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year 
for which the credit is being determined.  If the taxpayer did not pay or incur Virginia qualified research and 
development expenses in any one of the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year for which the 



credit is being determined, the credit is equal to 5% of the Virginia qualified research and development expenses 
paid or incurred by the taxpayer during the taxable year. The total amount of Major Research and Development 
Tax Credits that may be issued for each fiscal year is limited to $20 million.

Exception to the Captive REIT Addition
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, any voting power or value of the beneficial interests 
or shares in a real estate investment trust (“REIT”) that are held in a separate asset account of a life insurance 
corporation are excluded from consideration for purposes of determining whether a REIT is a captive REIT 
subject to the Virginia income tax addition for captive REITs.

Assistance

www.tax.virginia.gov

The Department’s website contains valuable information to help you. 

•	 Online Services - Link to online registration, filing, payment, and other electronic services. 

•	 Laws, Rules & Decisions – Access the Code of Virginia, Tax Regulations, Legislative Summaries, Rulings 
by the Tax Commissioner, Tax Bulletins, and Attorney General Opinions. 

•	 e-Alerts – Sign up and stay informed. By subscribing, you will periodically receive automatic e-mail 
notifications regarding legislative changes, filing reminders, and other relevant information.

Contact the Department

	 Customer Service Inquiries 	 Forms Request Unit 
	 Department of Taxation	 Department of Taxation
	 P.O. Box 1115	 P.O. Box 1317
	 Richmond, Virginia 23218-1115	 Richmond, Virginia 23218-1317
	 Phone:	(804) 367-8037	 Phone:	 (804) 367-8037 
	 FAX:	 (804) 254-6111

Tenemos servicios disponible en Español.
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GENERAL INFORMATION

Pass-Through Entities Required to File
Every pass-through entity (PTE) doing business in Virginia 
or having income from Virginia sources is required to 
electronically file a Form 502 for each taxable year. 
Pass-through entities include S corporations, general 
partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships 
(LLPs), limited liability companies (LLCs), electing large 
partnerships, and business trusts.  A PTE is any entity that 
is recognized as a separate entity for federal income tax 
purposes and the entity’s owners report their distributive or pro 
rata shares of the entity’s income, gains, losses, deductions, 
and credits on their own income tax returns.  Unlike C 
corporations, a PTE typically does not pay income tax itself; 
rather, the entity’s income and related items are reported by 
the owners on their personal returns and the tax is computed 
and paid at the owner level. Estates and trusts that file Virginia 
Form 770 are not subject to the Form 502 filing requirements.
An owner of a PTE may be an individual, a corporation, a 
partnership, or any other type of entity that is treated as a 
shareholder, partner, or member of a PTE for federal income 
tax purposes.
An owner of a PTE may itself be a PTE and have other pass-
through entities as its owners so that income, gains, losses, 
and deductions may pass through several levels of ownership 
before reaching an owner that is taxable.  All pass-through 
entities that are subject to filing in Virginia are required to file 
their own returns regardless of the ownership hierarchy. There 
are no “consolidated” or “multilevel” PTE returns. 
A PTE has Virginia source income if it has:
1.	 Any items of income, gain, loss, or deduction related to 

either:
a)	 the ownership of real or tangible personal 
property in Virginia, or 
b)	 a business, trade, profession, or occupation 
carried on in Virginia; 

	 OR
2.	 Any income or gain from intangible property to the extent 

that such property is used by the entity in a business, 
trade, profession, or occupation carried on in Virginia.

If a PTE does not conduct its entire business within Virginia, 
then it must determine the Virginia-source portion of its 
total income through allocation and apportionment. See 
Page 10 of the Form 502 instructions for more information 
on allocation and apportionment. In general, a non-Virginia 
entity will have income from Virginia sources if it has enough 
activity or presence in Virginia to make any apportionment 
factor (property, payroll, or sales) positive. Therefore, it 

may be deemed to have Virginia-source income under the 
apportionment formulas even if no specific portion of its gross 
or net income is separately identifiable as being derived 
directly from Virginia. 
Single-Member LLC 
A single-member LLC that is disregarded as a separate entity 
for federal income tax purposes will be similarly treated for 
Virginia income tax purposes.  Its income, gains, losses, 
and deductions will be included with those of its owner on 
the owner’s income tax return. The disregarded entity is not 
required to file Form 502.
Investment Pass-Through Entities 
Previous rulings of the Tax Commissioner have held that 
pass-through entities that are established solely to invest in 
intangible personal property, such as stocks and bonds, and 
that have no employees and no real or tangible property, are 
not considered to be carrying on a trade or business. Thus, 
the income from the intangible property that is held by an 
investment PTE is not income from Virginia sources, and 
these types of pass-through entities are not be required to 
file Form 502.
Period Covered by the Return
A  PTE’s taxable year for Virginia purposes is the same as its 
taxable year for federal income tax purposes.
Withholding Tax Payments for Nonresident Owners
Every PTE that does business in the Commonwealth and has 
taxable income derived from Virginia sources must withhold 
and pay Virginia income tax on behalf of each of its nonresident 
owners, unless the entity or the owner meets an exception. 
See the section heading “Exceptions to the Requirement for 
Withholding.”  If an owner was a nonresident owner for only 
a portion of the taxable year, the income allocated to such 
owner must be prorated by the number of days of residence 
outside of Virginia in order to determine the amount on which 
the withholding tax must be paid. The tax is equal to 5% of 
the share of taxable income from Virginia sources that is 
allocable to each nonresident owner.  In determining the 
amount of tax, the entity may apply any tax credits that pass 
through to nonresident owners, but the tax liability of any 
nonresident owner may not be reduced to less than zero. To 
avoid penalties, the payment must be equal to the lesser 
of: 90% of the withholding tax liability that was reported 
for the current taxable year or 100% of the withholding tax 
liability reported for the previous taxable year, provided 
that the return for the previous year covered a 12-month 
period and reflected a withholding tax liability.
Due Date for Payment
Payment of the withholding tax is due by the original due 
date for filing Form 502 (i.e., April 15 for a calendar year 
return).  The automatic 6-month filing extension for Form 502 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING FORM 502
VIRGINIA PASS-THROUGH ENTITY RETURN OF INCOME 
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does not apply to the withholding tax payment.  If the entity 
chooses to use the automatic filing extension for Form 502, 
the withholding tax payment must be submitted electronically 
no later than the original due date for filing Form 502. 
Note: Virginia does not recognize Emancipation Day, occurring 
annually on April 16 in Washington DC.
Penalties and Interest
If a PTE that is subject to the withholding tax requirement 
fails to pay the minimum tax amount described above by the 
original due date, penalties may apply.  The penalties are 
computed in the same manner as the extension penalty and 
late payment penalty for individual income taxes. The late 
filing penalty is computed in the manner prescribed under 
Va. Code § 58.1-394.1. 
If Form 502 is filed within the 6-month extension period, but 
the required minimum withholding tax amount was not paid  
by the original due date, the extension penalty will apply. The 
extension penalty is imposed at the rate of 2% per month or 
part of month on the balance of the tax due from the due date 
through the date the return is filed, up to a maximum of 12% 
of the tax due. 
If Form 502 is filed within the 6-month extension period and 
full payment is not included with the return, the late payment 
penalty will apply.  The late payment penalty is imposed at 
the rate of 6% per month from the date of filing of Form 502 
through the date of payment, up to a maximum of 30% of 
the tax due. If the entity fails to pay the minimum tax amount 
required as described AND fails to make full payment with 
a return filed within the 6-month extension period, both the 
extension penalty and the late payment penalty will apply.  The 
extension penalty will be imposed from the original due date 
through the date that the return is filed, and the late payment 
penalty will begin to accrue on the day after the return is filed.
If Form 502 is filed more than 6 months after the due date 
or more than 30 days after the federal extended due date, 
whichever is later, the greater of the late payment penalty, 
imposed at the rate of 30% of the tax due, or a late filing 
penalty of $1,200 will apply.
Any balance of unpaid tax is also subject to accrual of interest 
at the rate specified under IRC § 6621, plus 2%, from the due 
date until the date of payment.  For details on computing the 
penalty and interest charges, see the line-by-line instructions 
for Page 2 of Form 502.
Exceptions to the Requirement for Withholding 
Publicly traded partnerships and disregarded entities are not 
subject to the withholding requirement.  A PTE with an owner 
that is a disregarded entity does not withhold on behalf of the 
disregarded entity. The disregarded entity does not withhold 
on behalf of its individual owner. For all other pass-through 
entities, no withholding of Virginia income tax is required on 
behalf of the following nonresident owners: (1) individuals 
who are exempt from paying federal income taxes, who are 
exempt from Virginia income taxes, or whose credit for taxes 
paid to other states is sufficient to offset all Virginia income tax 
attributable to the shares of income distributed by the PTE; 
(2) individuals included on a composite return (Form 765); 

(3) entities other than individuals and corporations that are 
exempt from paying federal income taxes by reason of their 
purpose or activities;  (4) real estate investment trusts (REITs) 
that are not Captive REITs; and (5) corporations exempt from 
Virginia income tax. 
The exemption from federal income tax for entities other than 
individuals and corporations must apply to the entity’s share 
of the PTE’s income. 
Examples of such exempt entities include: 

(1) Other PTEs.  Generally, a PTE does not need to 
withhold for a nonresident owner that is also a PTE.  
These nonresident owner PTEs are responsible for 
filing their own PTE returns of income and must pay the 
withholding tax for their nonresident owners’ shares of 
income from Virginia sources.  If a PTE is notified by a 
nonresident owner PTE that the nonresident owner PTE 
is not going to file a Virginia PTE return, then the PTE 
is required to withhold on the nonresident owner PTE.
CAUTION: As a general rule, a PTE should not withhold 
tax on behalf of another PTE.  If a PTE does withhold on 
a nonresident owner PTE, the nonresident owner PTE 
cannot claim credit on its Form 502 for such withholding. 
PTE withholding is not “generation skipping” and does 
not pass through an intermediate PTE to owners that 
are more than one level of ownership away.  In the event 
that a PTE erroneously withholds for a nonresident owner 
PTE, the PTE should file an amended Form 502.  See 
the amended returns section for additional information.
(2) Entities that are exempt by reason of diplomatic 
immunity or pursuant to treaties between the United 
States and other countries. An entity claiming this 
exemption must provide a statement to the PTE stating 
that it has diplomatic immunity from federal income tax.
(3) Any nonresident person who is a part of a PTE 
that owns and leases 4 or fewer dwelling units in the 
Commonwealth, provided that the PTE discloses the 
name and federal taxpayer identification number for all 
such owners in its return for the taxable year filed under 
Va. Code § 58.1-392. For this purpose, the term “person” 
is defined using the definition of “person” in Va. Code § 
55-248.4.

See the Laws, Rules and Decisions page on the Department’s 
website for any additional exceptions that may apply.
If paying the withholding tax imposes an undue hardship 
on the PTE, the PTE may request a waiver of the payment 
requirement. To request a waiver, the PTE must write a 
letter to the Tax Commissioner describing the facts and 
circumstances creating the hardship. The letter must provide 
information to enable the Tax Commissioner to compare 
and evaluate the cost of the PTE’s compliance with the 
withholding requirements and the cost to the Commonwealth 
of collecting income tax from any nonresident owners that 
do not voluntarily file Virginia income tax returns and pay 
the tax.
To indicate an exception for the PTE, the entity must enter the 
appropriate exception code on Form 502, Line d.
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To indicate an exception for the entity or for any or all 
nonresident owners, the entity must enter the appropriate 
exception code on Line f of the nonresident owner’s Schedule 
VK-1, and enclose a list of all of the nonresident owners that 
are claiming an exception to the Form 502. See Page 9 of 
these instructions for a list of exemption codes.
Accounting Method
A PTE’s accounting method for its Virginia return of income 
is the same as its accounting method for federal income tax 
purposes.
Allocation and Apportionment
If a PTE’s entire business is conducted within Virginia, then all 
of its income is Virginia source income; no income is allocated 
to another state, and the entity’s Virginia apportionment 
is 100%.  If a PTE conducts its business in Virginia and 
elsewhere in a manner such that its income would be subject 
to a tax on net income in Virginia and at least one other state, 
the entity must allocate and apportion its income in the same 
manner that is provided in Virginia law for corporations.  This 
applies to all types of pass-through entities (partnerships, 
LLPs, LLCs, and S corporations).  Dividends received are to 
be allocated to the state of commercial domicile, but all other 
income must be apportioned.  An entity may not apportion 
its income based on divisional or separate accounting, 
or any other alternate method unless it has requested 
and received permission to do so in advance from the 
Department.
The effect of the PTE’s apportionment may vary from one 
owner to another, depending on the entity types of the owners. 
For instance:

•	 a Virginia resident individual owner is taxable on all 
of his or her PTE income regardless of the entity’s 
apportionment;

•	 a nonresident individual owner uses the entity’s Virginia 
apportioned income in determining his or her own Virginia 
nonresident percentage; and 

•	 a corporate owner may need to include the PTE’s 
property, payroll, and sales factors in determining its own 
apportionment percentage.

Alternative Method of Apportionment for Manufacturers 
Qualifying manufacturing companies may elect to determine 
their Virginia taxable income by using a single sales factor 
method of apportionment based on sales. This modification 
will be phased in as follows:

•	 A triple-weighted sales factor may be elected for taxable 
years beginning on or after July 1, 2011, but before July 
1, 2013;

•	 A quadruple-weighted sales factor may be elected for 
taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2013, but 
before July 1, 2014; and

•	 A single sales factor may be elected for taxable years 
beginning on and after July 1, 2014.

For purposes of this election, a manufacturing company is 
defined as a domestic or foreign corporation primarily engaged 
in activities in accordance with the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS), United States Manual, United 
States Office of Management and Budget, 1997 Edition, would 
be included in Sector 11, 31, 32, or 33. See the instructions for 
Schedule 502A for details on how to compute apportionment 
factors.

Alternative Method of Apportionment for Retail Companies
Beginning on and after July 1, 2015, retail companies are 
required to use a single sales factor method of apportionment.
For purposes of this requirement, a retail company is defined 
as a domestic or foreign corporation primarily engaged in 
activities that, in accordance with the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS), United States Manual, United 
States Office of Management and Budget, 1997 Edition, would 
be included in Sectors 44-45.
See Schedule 502A and the Form 502 instructions for more 
information about allocation and apportionment.  Also see the 
Form 502 instructions for Lines 4 - 7 on Page 10.
Apportionment for Certain Enterprise Data Center 
Operations
A taxpayer with an enterprise data center operation that 
enters into a memorandum of understanding with the Virginia 
Economic Development Partnership Authority (“VEDP”) to 
make a new capital investment of at least $150 million in 
an enterprise data center in Virginia is required to apportion 
Virginia taxable income using a single sales factor method 
of apportionment. This modified method of apportionment is 
phased in as follows: 
•	 From July 1, 2016 to July 1, 2017, qualifying taxpayers are 

required to use a quadruple-weighted sales factor; and 
•	 From July 1, 2017, and thereafter, qualifying taxpayers 

are required to use the single sales factor method of 
apportionment. 

General Filing Requirements
When to File
The PTE return must be submitted on or before the 15th day 
of the 4th month after the close of the entity’s taxable year.
How to File
The Department requires that all pass-through entities (PTEs) 
file their withholding tax payments, extension payments, 
annual tax returns, and final payments electronically.  There 
are two options available. Returns may be filed through the 
Federal/State e-File program, or certain Virginia PTEs may 
qualify to electronically file a Form 502EZ using the eForms 
system on the Department’s website.  If the PTE is unable 
to file and pay electronically by the effective date, the PTE 
may request a waiver.  Visit the Department’s website at 
www.tax.virginia.gov to access a waiver form and the 
mailing address. 
e-File (Form 502)
The e-File system is supported by numerous commercial 
software programs. e-File software will automatically check 
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for completeness, correct errors, generate the applicable 
schedules, and electronically transmit the return and 
payment to the e-File processing systems.  A list of approved 
commercial software is available on the Department’s 
website.  If a tax due payment is required, the payment can 
be made through the e-File system as a direct debit by using 
eForms or with an ACH Credit established through the PTE’s 
bank. 
In order to successfully e-File, the pass-through entity must:
•	 Use an approved commercial e-File software product. 

Approved e-File software is listed on the Department’s 
website.

•	 You must be able to create a readable PDF file for any 
document or schedule that is required for backup to the 
return.  You must either have a scanner that allows you 
to scan documents into a PDF file or software that allows 
you to save a file as a PDF document. This feature will 
allow you to e-File your state return if the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) does not support the federal return and/or 
schedules through the federal e-File system by attaching 
the federal return as a PDF file to the state return’s 
electronic transmission.

•	 The Virginia e-File program has been designed to 
accept transmission of the federal and state return 
together or separately (often referred to as a state-only 
transmission).  The state-only transmission option can be 
used when the federal return being filed is not supported 
by the federal e-File system.  This allows the state return 
to be e-Filed by itself.  Most software vendors support 
both the electronic transmission of the federal and state 
together (linked) or separately (unlinked).

•	 Large Pass-Through Entities must decide whether to use 
an Electronic Return Originator (ERO) to electronically 
file the return or prepare and e-File the return 
themselves.  Please note, if a partnership chooses to 
prepare and e-File the return themselves, they may have 
to register and apply with the IRS to obtain an Electronic 
Filing Identification Number (EFIN) and possibly an 
Electronic Transmitter Identification Number (ETIN) 
depending upon the e-File option chosen.  Please see 
the Department’s website for detailed information.  

•	 Small Pass-Through Entities may use an online provider 
to avoid having to register with the IRS for an Electronic 
Filing Identification Number (EFIN).

eForms (Forms 502EZ, 502W, and 502V)
An online return, Form 502EZ, is available through the eForms 
application on the Department’s website.  This return is a 
shorter version of the existing Form 502, and is designed to 
simplify the filing process.  In addition, you can submit pass-
through entity withholding payments (Form 502W) and return 
payments (Form 502V) using eForms. Using eForms is a fast 
and free way to file and pay state taxes.
To be eligible to file Form 502EZ, the PTE must meet all 
of the criteria below:
•	 100% of the PTE’s business is in Virginia

•	 100% of the PTE’s income is from Virginia sources
•	 The PTE’s commercial domicile is in Virginia
•	 The PTE does not have more than 10 owners
•	 The PTE is not required to file a Virginia Corporation 

Income tax return (Form 500)
•	 The PTE passes no Schedule CR credits to its owners 

for the year
•	 The PTE has no Fixed Date Conformity modifications or 

adjustments to pass to its owners
•	 The total taxable income of the PTE must be greater 

than or equal to $0 and does not exceed $40,000 for the 
taxable year of the return

•	 The total Additions to and Subtractions from income are 
less than $1,000

The 502EZ is free, secure, available 24/7, and does not 
require registration or login credentials. For more information, 
go to www.tax.virginia.gov/eforms.
Waiver Request
If the requirement to file and pay electronically creates an 
undue hardship for a taxpayer, the PTE may request a 
waiver. All requests for waivers must be submitted to the 
Department in writing using the PTEs Tax Electronic Filing 
Waiver Request form on the Department’s website at 
www.tax.virginia.gov. 
Extension of Time to File
An automatic extension of time to file is granted to the date 
6 months after the due date for filing Form 502 or 30 days 
after the extended due date for filing the federal income tax 
return, whichever is later.  The automatic extension of time 
to file does not extend the payment due date for withholding 
tax. The withholding tax payment is due on the due date of 
the PTE’s return regardless of whether the extension to file 
Form 502 is used. Use Form 502W to make the withholding 
tax payment by the due date.
Penalties
If Form 502 is not filed within the automatic extension period 
or more than 30 days after the extended federal due date, 
the extension will be invalid and the greater of the late 
payment penalty or the late filing penalty will apply.  The late 
payment  penalty is equal to 6% of the tax due per month, 
with a maximum penalty of 30% of the tax due.  The late filing 
penalty is $1,200 when filed after the automatic extension 
period of 6 months. 
If the failure to file continues for more than 6 months, the 
Department may assess the PTE with a late filing penalty 
equal to 6% of the Virginia taxable income that the owners 
derive from the entity.  The Department may estimate this 
taxable income using any method it deems reasonable and 
with any information in its possession. The 6% penalty will 
be reduced by any monthly penalty that has already been 
assessed pursuant to Va. Code § 58.1-394.1(A), or the 6% 
penalty may be assessed instead of the monthly penalty. The 
6% penalty will also be reduced to the extent that any owner 
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has paid Virginia income tax on his or her share of the entity’s 
income for the same taxable year.
Penalty for Returned Check or EFT Nonpayment
If the PTE’s bank does not honor a payment to the 
Department, the Department may impose a penalty of $35, 
as authorized by Va. Code § 2.2-614.1. This penalty will be 
assessed in addition to other penalties due.
Signature
The return must be signed by an officer of the S corporation, a 
general partner, or an authorized LLC member, as appropriate 
for the type of entity. An owner’s signature on the return shall 
be prima facie evidence that the owner is authorized to sign 
on behalf of the PTE. If the return was prepared wholly or 
in substantial part by a person other than an owner or an 
employee of the entity, that person must also sign the return.
Virginia Schedules and Enclosures
In addition to Form 502, the return must include Schedule(s) 
VK-1 or VK-1 Consolidated indicating the owner’s share of 
income and Virginia modifications and credits for each owner.  
Also, Schedule 502ADJ and Schedule 502A, are usually 
required. To claim certain tax credits, specific documentation 
must be enclosed with the return. See the Schedule 502ADJ, 
Section C - Virginia Tax Credits section of these instructions for 
more information. If an entry is made on Section C, Line 1 of 
Form 502ADJ for state income tax paid, a supporting schedule 
must be enclosed. If the PTE and the qualifying nonresident 
owners elect, a composite return, Form 765, Virginia Unified 
Nonresident Income Tax Return may also be filed. This is a 
separate return and should not be included with Form 502.
A copy of the PTE’s federal return of income, as filed with the 
IRS, is required to be enclosed with the Virginia return. The 
required enclosure includes the federal Form 1120S, Form 
1065, or Form 1065B, with Schedule K. Do not include federal 
Schedule K-1 because it is not required. If the federal return is 
so voluminous that it is impractical to include a complete copy 
with the Virginia return, enclose the Form 1120S, Form 1065, 
or Form 1065B along with the Schedule K, and a statement 
that the complete return will be made available upon request.

Order of Documents
•	 Form 502
•	 Schedule 502ADJ, if applicable
•	 Schedule 502A, if applicable
•	 Schedule(s) VK-1 or VK-1 Consolidated 
•	 Schedule 500AB, if applicable
•	 A copy of your federal return

Do not enclose federal Schedules K-1 to your Virginia return.
Report of Change in Federal Return
If the amount of any item of distributive or pro rata income, or 
deduction on the PTE’s federal return of income is changed 
or corrected by the IRS or any other competent authority, or 
through renegotiation of a contract with the United States, 
the entity must notify the Department and issue an amended 
Schedule VK-1 to each owner within 1 year of the federal 

change. If a PTE amends its federal return of income in any 
manner that would affect its Virginia return or the Virginia 
returns or tax liabilities of its owners, the entity must file an 
amended Virginia return and issue an amended Schedule 
VK-1 to each owner with full disclosure of the federal 
amendment.
Amended Returns
A PTE may amend its return through PTE e-File. The 
“amended return” indicator must be marked on the return 
within the software package. If the original return was filed 
through eForms using 502EZ, the PTE may use the eForms 
application to amend the return. Enter the corrected figures 
for Form 502 and supporting schedules. An explanation of 
any changes made must be documented with the e-File 
submission, including any supporting forms or schedules. In 
addition, the PTE must issue an amended Virginia Schedule 
VK-1 to each owner. To amend a return that was originally 
filed through eForms using Form 502EZ, the PTE must 
submit Form 502.
If the amended return includes an adjustment to the total 
withholding due for nonresident owners, complete Schedule 
502ADJ, Section D - Amended Return, to compute any 
additional tax due or refund resulting from the amended return. 
If a PTE files Form 502 and later finds it did not include all 
Schedule(s) VK-1 or Schedule(s) VK-1 Consolidated with the 
return, but no other changes to the return are necessary, the 
entity should not file an amended Form 502. Instead, it should 
submit the additional schedule(s) to the Department with a 
cover letter that includes the notation “Additional Schedule(s) 
VK-1 or Schedule(s) VK-1 Consolidated Enclosed with 
Previously Filed Return.”
In the event the PTE that filed the Form 502 erroneously 
withheld for an owner, such as a nonresident owner PTE, and 
no other changes to the original Form 502 are necessary, the 
PTE should file an amended Form 502, completing all lines 
and schedules, reflecting a reduced withholding amount on 
Line c, Form 502, and in Section 1, Form 502. Also, the PTE 
should complete Section D of Schedule 502ADJ to determine 
the amount of withholding overpaid with the original return and 
now due to the PTE as a refund.  Attach revised Schedules 
VK-1, marked amended, only for the owners for which 
withholding was erroneously reported indicating that no 
withholding was required. Be sure to issue a corrected 
Schedule VK-1 to every owner affected by the changes 
to the return, with a notice alerting the owners to the 
potential need to amend their own Virginia returns.  Upon 
receipt of the amended return, the Department will review 
the amended return and, as applicable, refund to the PTE 
the amount the PTE withheld in error on the nonresident 
owner PTE. 

Supplemental Information for Multistate Activity
If the entity files composite returns in other states, or is taxed 
as a corporation in other states, it must provide a statement 
to each of its owners. The statement must confirm the 
owner’s election to participate in the composite filing in the 
other state and provide the owner’s share of gross income, 
taxable income, and tax paid. This statement will be used 
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to determine the credit amount on the Virginia individual 
income tax return. A sample reporting format is available on 
the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov under 
the topic of Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State.
Composite Return Filing for Nonresident Individual 
Owners (Form 765)
When a PTE is required to file a Virginia return of income, 
the owners of the entity are typically required to file a Virginia 
income tax return to report their respective shares of income. 
To simplify the filing requirement for qualified individual 
nonresident owners, the PTE may file a composite Virginia 
income tax return on their behalf, using Form 765, provided 
that certain conditions described in the Form 502 instructions 
are met. The PTE is not required to pay the withholding tax 
on behalf of the individual nonresident owners for whom it 
files Form 765, and should not withhold for those owners. 
Accordingly, there is no provision on Form 765 for claiming 
credit for such withholding.  A PTE may file a composite 
return for only a portion of its qualified nonresident owners, 
provided that the PTE pays the PTE withholding tax for any 
qualified nonresident owners who are not included in the 
composite return.
The Form 765 is an individual income tax return that is 
completed separately and filed in addition to the PTE’s return. 
Accordingly, Form 765 may not be filed unless the entity has 
also filed its Form 502, or if the entity is a trust or estate, its 
Form 770. Do not submit Form 765 with Form 502 or Form 
770, or include Form 765 as an enclosure with those returns.
Form 765 may be downloaded from the Department’s 
website, www.tax.virginia.gov, or requested by calling the 
Department’s Forms Request Unit at (804) 367-8037.
Qualified Nonresident Owner
A qualified nonresident owner is generally defined as an 
individual who is a nonresident of Virginia for income tax 
purposes and who is a direct owner of the entity.  For taxable 
years beginning prior to January 1, 2008, a qualified owner may 
only derive Virginia source income from the PTE that is filing 
the composite return.  For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008, a qualified owner may derive Virginia source 
income from more than one PTE (and thereby be included 
in multiple composite returns), or from other sources. If the 
qualified owner also receives income from sources other than 
pass-through entities, or from entities that do not file composite 
returns, the owner must also file an individual income tax return 
on Form 763 to account for any Virginia source income that is 
not reported in a composite return.  Corporations, regardless of 
where domiciled, Virginia resident individuals, and individuals 
who are not direct owners of the entity, regardless of their 
residency status, are not qualified nonresident owners and 
may not be included in a composite return.
Multiple pass-through entities under common ownership that 
wish to file a consolidated Form 765 must request permission 
from the Department to do so.  Address requests to the Tax 
Commissioner, Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 
2475, Richmond, VA  23218-2475.

Conditions for Filing a Composite Return
The PTE must obtain the consent of each qualified nonresident 
owner, as defined above, to be included in the return. Such 
consent must indicate that the nonresident owner agrees to 
be taxed under the following conditions:
1.	 The PTE must provide a schedule containing the total 

income of the entity and the amount that is attributable to 
Virginia under either the applicable state apportionment 
formula, as provided in Va. Code §§ 58.1-408 through 58.1-
420, or by using an alternative method of apportionment 
that is approved by the Tax Commissioner as provided 
in Va. Code § 58.1-421. 

2.	 The return will include each qualified nonresident owner’s  
name, address, and Social Security Number, and the 
Virginia taxable income attributable to each qualified 
nonresident owner.

3.	 The amount of tax is computed on the Virginia taxable 
income by applying the highest tax rate for individual 
income tax specified in Va. Code § 58.1-320 or by 
reference to the tax tables that are published by the 
Department, without regard to the number of participants. 
The tax is computed on the entity’s income that is 
attributable to the qualified nonresident owners without 
the benefit of itemized deductions, standard deductions, 
personal exemptions, credit for income taxes paid to 
states of residence, or credit for Virginia income tax 
withheld on behalf of the owners. 

4. 	An owner, officer, or employee of the PTE who is 
authorized to act on behalf of the PTE in tax matters 
(authorized representative) must sign the composite 
return. By signing the return, the signer is declaring that 
he or she is the authorized representative of the PTE 
and that each participant has signed a consent form 
authorizing the PTE to act on the participant’s behalf in 
the matter of composite returns, and acknowledging the 
participant’s understanding and acceptance of all of the 
terms and conditions of participation in a composite return. 
The consent form must continue in force indefinitely until 
it is revoked in writing by the participant, and permit the 
PTE to file amendments or take other actions concerning 
the composite return without additional authorization from 
the participant. The consent forms must be maintained by 
the PTE and provided to the Department for inspection 
upon demand. Participation in the composite return will 
indicate the consent of the nonresident owner to be taxed 
by the Commonwealth of Virginia.

5. 	Estimated income tax payments made on behalf of 
owners included in a composite return must be made on 
a composite basis, using the name and account number 
or federal employer identification number (FEIN) of the 
PTE. 

Automatic extensions of time to file Form 502 or Form 770 
and Form 765 are separate and independent of each other. 
A payment may be required for an extension for Form 765 if 
90% of the liability has not been paid by the original due date. 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 OF FORM 502

Taxpayer Information 
Fiscal year or short period filers:  Enter the beginning and 
ending dates for the PTE’s fiscal or short year. Enter as 
MM/DD/YYYY.
Check boxes at top of page:  Mark the appropriate box for 
any condition that applies:  
•	 Schedules VK-1 filed by Web Upload;
•	 The Department is authorized to discuss this return with 

the undersigned preparer;
•	 The return is the initial return filed by the entity;
•	 The return is an amendment of a previously filed return;
•	 The return is the final return that the entity will have to 

file with Virginia (i.e., the entity has been dissolved or no 
longer operates in Virginia);

•	 The name or address shown represents a change that 
should be reflected in the Department’s records; 

•	 The entity’s fiscal year has changed;
•	 A Virginia Composite Nonresident Individual Income Tax 

Return, Form 765, will be filed for the same taxable year;
•	 The entity is an electing large partnership;
•	 The entity is subject to Bank Franchise Tax. If this box is 

checked, the S corporation will provide the shareholders with 
the pertinent information concerning their allocable share 
of the income or gain, losses, or deductions or the value 
of any distributions paid or distributed to the shareholder 
by the S corporation.

Federal Employer ID Number: Enter the PTE’s FEIN.
Name and Address: Enter the entity’s name and address in 
the space provided.
Date of Formation, Date Operations Began in Virginia, and 
State or Country Where Incorporated: Enter the entity’s date 
of formation, the date operations began in Virginia, and the 
state or country where it is incorporated or organized in the 
space provided.
Entity Type:  (Note: A proper entry in this field is required.)  
Enter the code that corresponds to the type of entity filing 
this return.  
Type		  Code
S Corporation.......................................................... SC
General Partnership................................................PG
Limited Partnership..................................................PL
Limited Liability Company........................................ LL
Limited Liability Partnership.....................................LP
Other.......................................................................OB
NAICS Code:  Enter the 6-digit NAICS code.  A list of these 
codes can be accessed from the Businesses section on the 
Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov.

Description of Business Activity: Enter a 1 to 2 word description 
of the primary activity in which the business is engaged.
Number and Types of Owners
a.	 Enter the total number of owners. The total number of 

owners should be the same as the number of shareholders 
who were shareholders during any part of the taxable year 
(see federal Form 1120S, Page 1, Line I) or the number 
of Schedules K-1 filed with the PTE’s federal return (see 
federal Forms 1065 or 1065B, Page 1, Line I).

b.	 Enter the total number of owners that are not residents 
of Virginia. If the residency status is not known, enter 
the number of owners whose address of record is not in 
Virginia.

c.	 Enter the total amount withheld for all nonresident owners 
from Line e of each Schedule VK-1 filed with this return. 

d.	 If the entity claims an exemption from paying the 
withholding tax, enter the exemption code from the 
Withholding Exemption Reason list below in the space 
provided.

Entities Exempt From Withholding 
The PTE will not be required to pay the withholding tax if it:
•	 is a Publicly Traded Partnership
•	 is a Disregarded Entity
•	 files a composite return on behalf of all nonresident 

owners
•	 the PTE owns and leases 4 or fewer dwelling units
Please note that, because only individuals may be included 
on a composite return, PTEs that have both individual and 
corporate and/or other entity members may be exempt from 
paying the withholding tax for the individual members, but 
will still be required to pay the withholding tax on behalf of 
the corporate and/or other entity members.  In that case, 
the PTE should not indicate that it is exempt from paying 
the withholding tax.  Instead, it will indicate on the individual 
members’ Schedules VK-1 that it is not required to pay the 
withholding tax for them because they are included on a 
composite return.
Withholding Exemption Reason	 Code
Entity files a composite nonresident income tax return
for ALL nonresident owners.........................................03
Publicly traded partnership..........................................04
Undue hardship waiver granted..................................06
PTE’s income is from rents with four or fewer
dwelling units...............................................................07
Undue Hardship
If a PTE believes that the withholding requirement causes an 
undue hardship, the PTE may apply to the Tax Commissioner 
requesting an exemption. In addition to any other information 
that is pertinent to the PTE’s petition for relief, the letter shall 
provide information that will enable the Tax Commissioner 
to compare and evaluate the cost to the PTE of complying 
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with the withholding tax requirements and the cost to the 
Commonwealth of collecting income tax from any nonresident 
owners who do not voluntarily file Virginia income tax returns 
and pay the tax. For purposes of requesting an undue hardship 
exemption, the withholding tax liability itself is not considered 
to be part of the cost of compliance, nor is a PTE’s inability 
to pay the tax a basis for exemption.
Distributive or Pro Rata Income and Deductions
Line 1. Total of taxable income amounts.
Enter the total of all the various categories of taxable income 
shown in the “Income” section of Schedule K of the PTE’s 
federal Form 1065 or Form 1120S. It may be helpful to use the 
worksheet below to summarize the income, but note that the 
worksheet lines may not correspond exactly to every item on 
the Schedule K. If you are an “electing large partnership,” see 
the paragraph labeled “Electing large partnerships” following 
the Line 3 instructions below. 
Ordinary income (loss) from  
trade or business 
Net income (loss) from  
rental real estate  
Net income (loss) from  
other rental activity
Interest income 	
Dividend income
Royalty income
Other portfolio income
Net short-term capital gain (loss)
Net long-term capital gain (loss)
Net IRC § 1231 gain (loss)

Other taxable income (loss)
Total of taxable income amounts  
(This is a Virginia calculation; there is  
not a total on Schedule K of federal 
Form 1065 or Form 1120S.)
Caution
The Schedule K of federal Forms 1065 and 1120S does 
not include a total taxable income amount, and the correct 
amount to enter on Form 502 is not necessarily the sum of 
all entries in the “Income” section of Schedule K. Schedule 
K may have entries that overlap for a particular category of 
income (for instance, a yearly amount and the amount through 
a certain date because of a midyear federal law change).  For 
each category of income, include only the yearly total in the 
Virginia computation; do not omit, duplicate, or count any 
amounts twice.
Line 2. Total deductions.
Enter the total of the various categories of deductions shown 
in the “Deductions” section of Schedule K of the PTE’s 
federal Form 1065 or 1120S. This may include charitable 
contributions, the IRC § 179 expense deduction and “other” 
deductions.

Line 3. Tax-exempt interest income.  
Enter the total tax-exempt interest income shown in the 
“Other” section of the PTE’s federal Schedule K.
Electing large partnerships.  An electing large partnership, 
which files federal Form 1065B, combines items of income, 
gain, loss, and deduction before reporting to the partners, 
rather than reporting such items separately to partners as 
do other partnerships. The Schedule K for Form 1065B is, 
therefore, significantly different from Schedule K for Forms 
1065 and 1120S. From the Schedule K (Form 1065B), 
combine total taxable income (loss) from passive loss 
limitation activities (without regard to general or limited 
partner allocation), taxable income (loss) from other activities, 
qualified dividends from other activities, and any net capital 
gain or other taxable income from Schedule K that is not 
included in the above amounts. Enter the result on Line 1, 
Total taxable income amounts. Leave Line 2 blank. Enter 
the amount of tax-exempt interest income from Schedule K 
on Line 3. 
Allocation and Apportionment
Lines 4-7. All pass-through entities must complete this 
section. If the PTE conducted its business entirely within 
Virginia, and no income is allocated or apportioned elsewhere, 
then leave Lines 4 and 5 blank, repeat the amount from Line 
1 on Line 6, and enter “100%” on Line 7. In all other cases, 
complete Schedule 502A first to determine the entries for 
Lines 4-7 as described below. See Schedule 502A and its 
instructions for more information on who is eligible to allocate 
and apportion income. If the PTE is electing the alternative 
method of apportionment for manufacturers for taxable years 
beginning on and after July 1, 2011, mark the box to the right 
of the allocation and apportionment heading. 
Virginia law provides that dividends that are received are to 
be allocated to the state of commercial domicile, and that all 
other income must be apportioned as directed in Va. Code 
§§ 58.1-408 through 58.1-420. Virginia law does not allow for 
subtractions from apportionable income based on separate 
or divisional accounting, or for the exclusion of non-Virginia 
investment income. Except as provided below, an alternative 
method of allocation and apportionment may not be used 
without prior written approval from the Department.
Some entities may be entitled to an alternative method of 
allocation and apportionment if they can demonstrate that the 
application of Virginia’s apportionment law to their particular 
facts for the taxable year would be contrary to the principles 
set forth in Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of Taxation, 504 
U.S. 768 (1992).  
In Allied-Signal, the Court reaffirmed the continued validity of 
apportionment of any income received directly by the taxpayer, 
including investment income such as capital gains, unless 
the capital transaction serves an investment function that is 
completely unrelated to any of its operational activities carried 
on in the state. The Court also reinforced the principle that 
investment income may be included in apportionable income 
if there is a unitary relationship between the taxpayer and the 
entity in which the taxpayer has invested. However, the Court 
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it shall redetermine the allocation or apportionment by such 
other method as it deems best calculated to assign to the 
state for taxation the portion of the income reasonably 
attributable to business and sources within the state, not 
exceeding, however, the amount which would be arrived 
at by the application of the statutory rules for allocation or 
apportionment.
The policy of the Department is that the statutory method is the 
most equitable method of determining the portion of income 
that is attributable to business activity in Virginia.  Permission 
to use an alternative method of allocation or apportionment 
will be granted only in extraordinary circumstances.
Line 4.
Enter the amount from Schedule 502A, Section C, Line 2.
Line 5.
Enter the amount from Schedule 502A, Section C, Line 3(e). 
Line 6.
Enter the amount from Schedule 502A, Section C, Line 4. If 
the PTE conducted its business entirely within Virginia and 
no income was allocated or apportioned elsewhere, enter the 
amount from Form 502, Line 1.
Line 7.
Enter the apportionment percentage from Schedule 502A, 
Section B, Line 1 or Line 2(g). If the PTE conducted its 
business entirely within Virginia and no income was allocated 
or apportioned elsewhere, enter 100% on Line 7.
Virginia Modifications to Income (Additions and 
Subtractions)
Virginia Modifications (Additions and Subtractions) should 
be allocated among owners in proportion to each owner’s 
percentage of ownership or participation in the PTE, or 
as provided in the partnership agreement or other entity 
document. However, each owner may only claim the 
modifications that are allowed on the owner’s Virginia 
income tax return. Therefore, an individual owner reports 
only modifications applicable to individual income tax and a 
corporate owner reports only those modifications applicable 
to Virginia corporate income tax.

Fixed Date Conformity Update for 2016
Virginia’s date of conformity with the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) was advanced from December 31, 2014 to December 
31, 2015, with limited exceptions.  
Bonus Depreciation: Virginia will continue to disallow any 
bonus depreciation claimed for certain assets under IRC § 
168(k) during Taxable Year 2001 and thereafter.  Virginia will 
also continue to disallow bonus depreciation claimed under 
IRC §§ 168(l), 168(m), 1400L, and 1400N.  To the extent that 
such bonus depreciation was claimed for federal income tax 
purposes, the depreciation deduction must be recomputed 
for Virginia income tax purposes. For taxable years when 
the recomputed Virginia depreciation deduction is less than 
the federal deduction, the taxpayer must claim a Virginia 
addition equal to the difference. For taxable years when the 
recomputed Virginia depreciation deduction is more than 

made it clear that the absence of a unitary relationship does 
not necessarily preclude apportionment.
Such an adjustment for unrelated investment function income 
is only available to a multistate entity that is entitled to allocate 
and apportion its income, and that proves by clear and 
cogent evidence that the assets producing the income serve 
an investment function unrelated to operational functions. If 
investment function income is excluded from apportionable 
income, the denominator of the relevant apportionment 
factors must also be adjusted to exclude items related to the 
investment assets.
Any entity that qualifies for an alternative method of allocation 
and apportionment for this type of income is required to 
add back any loss included in federal taxable income that 
is attributable to the acquisition, ownership, management, 
stewardship, sale, or exchange of investment assets that 
are unrelated to the taxpayer’s operational function. If the 
entity previously claimed a subtraction for nonapportionable 
investment function income with respect to any investment 
assets, an addition is required for any subsequent losses 
generated by such assets. 
Burden of Proof:  As a prerequisite to claiming an adjustment 
on Lines 3b and 3d in Section C of Schedule 502A (which 
effectively allocates income other than dividends) the entity 
must be able to demonstrate that the application of Virginia 
law to its particular facts will be unconstitutional. The burden 
is on the entity to prove by clear and cogent evidence that 
the capital investment was completely separate from its 
operations, and that the taxpayer’s investment function was 
located outside of Virginia. The entity must also demonstrate 
that the classification of the capital asset and its income for 
Virginia purposes is consistent with the manner in which 
the income has been allocated and apportioned with other 
state tax authorities.  The entity will be under a particularly 
heavy burden of proof in cases where the asset was clearly 
operational at any time. Objective evidence is required; an 
unsubstantiated statement as to the entity’s intent, purpose 
or state of mind will be insufficient to meet the burden. An 
entity claiming this exclusion for nonapportionable income 
must enclose a statement with the return stating the nature 
of the adjustment and the basis for the position that the relief 
is in accordance with Allied-Signal.  The entity must include 
with the return all evidence necessary to support its position. 
For additional information, see Virginia Tax Bulletin 93-4 (also 
designated Public Document (“PD”) 93-93B). 
Other alternative methods of allocation or apportionment:  
If any PTE believes that the method of allocation or 
apportionment specified by the Department will subject it 
or its owners to taxation on a greater portion of the entity’s 
net income than is reasonably attributable to business or 
sources within Virginia, it is entitled to file with the Department 
a statement of its objections and of the alternative method 
of allocation or apportionment that it believes to be proper 
under the circumstances, with such detail and proof and within 
such time as the Department may reasonably prescribe. If 
the Department concludes that the method of allocation or 
apportionment employed is, in fact, inapplicable or inequitable, 



Line 9.  Fixed Date Conformity — Other. (1)  Disposed 
Asset. If an asset was disposed in 2016 and such asset 
received the special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation 
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from 
2001 through 2016, and a gain or loss was recognized for 
federal purposes, then the gain or loss must be recomputed 
as if such asset did not receive the special 30% or 50% 
bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any 
taxable year from 2001 through 2016. The adjustment will 
be the difference in the federal and Virginia basis of the 
asset when sold. If the federal basis of the asset is greater 
than the Virginia basis (resulting in a lower gain reported for 
federal purposes), then the difference between the bases is 
an addition on the Virginia return. For further instructions, 
see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 
and 16-1 which are available on the Department’s website 
at www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037.
(2) Other Changes Not Listed. Please refer to the 
Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov, for information 
on any other additions due to federal tax legislation that 
passed after the publication deadline for these instructions. 
The Department’s website will also reflect any action by 
the Virginia General Assembly to advance the date of 
conformity to the IRC that may take place before the due 
date for your return. Enter any amounts described on  
www.tax.virginia.gov. Also, please enclose a schedule and 
explanation of such additions to Form 502.
Line 10.  Net Income Tax.  Enter the amount of any net 
income taxes and other taxes, including franchise and excise 
taxes, which are based on, measured by, or computed 
with reference to net income, imposed by this state or any 
other taxing jurisdiction, to the extent they are deducted in 
determining federal taxable income.  Income tax of any sort 
and by any name is not an allowable deduction in determining 
Virginia taxable income. Note that this item may be related 
to the income tax paid on Schedule 502ADJ, Section C, 
Line 1, but is defined differently and is not necessarily the 
same amount.
Line 11.  Interest on Obligations Other Than Virginia. 
Enter interest income received, less related expenses to the 
extent they are not deducted in determining federal taxable 
income, on obligations of any state other than Virginia, or 
of a political subdivision or agency of any such other state 
unless it was created by compact or agreement to which 
Virginia is a party. 
Line 12. Total Additions From Schedule 502ADJ. First 
complete Schedule 502ADJ, Section A. See the Schedule 
502ADJ instructions on Page 14.  Enter the total additions 
from Schedule 502ADJ, Section A, Line 5. 
Virginia Subtractions
Use the following line instructions for reporting Virginia 
subtractions from income.
Subtractions should be allocated among owners in proportion 
to each owner’s percentage of ownership or participation 
in the PTE, or as provided in the partnership agreement or 
other entity document. However, each owner may only claim 
the subtractions allowed on the owner’s Virginia income 
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the federal deduction, the taxpayer may claim a Virginia 
subtraction equal to the difference. 
Applicable High Yield Discount Obligations: Virginia 
will continue to deconform from IRC § 163(e)(5)(F), which 
suspends the application of the applicable high yield debt 
obligation (“AHYDO”) rules for certain debts issued between 
September 30, 2008, and December 31, 2009. For federal 
purposes, special rules generally apply to computing the 
interest deduction that applies to certain high-yield original 
issue discount obligations. Because Virginia will continue 
to deconform from the federal provision that suspends the 
AHYDO rules, such rules will continue to apply for Virginia 
income tax purposes.  Any resulting difference in the federal 
and Virginia deduction should be claimed as a modification 
on your Virginia return.
Cancellation of Debt Income: Under IRC § 108(i), 
taxpayers were permitted to defer the income realized upon 
the reacquisition of certain business debt during 2009 and 
2010, and instead report such income in Taxable Years 2014 
through 2018. 
Virginia deconformed from this federal provision and required 
taxpayers to claim a Virginia addition equal to the amount of 
the federal exclusion.  However, for transactions completed 
on or before April 21, 2010, taxpayers were permitted to 
partially defer such income by claiming the Virginia addition 
over three taxable years.
A taxpayer who previously claimed the Virginia cancellation 
of debt addition may claim a subtraction on his or her 
Taxable Year 2016 Virginia income tax return, to the extent 
such income was reported on his or her 2016 federal income 
tax return.
At the time these instructions went to print, the only required 
adjustments for “fixed date conformity” were those mentioned 
above. However, if federal legislation is enacted that results 
in changes to the IRC for the 2016 taxable year, taxpayers 
will be required to make adjustments to their Virginia 
returns that are not described in the instruction booklet. 
Information about any such adjustments will be posted on 
the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov.
Use the following line instructions for reporting Virginia 
additions to income.
Line 8.  Fixed Date Conformity – Depreciation. Enter 
the amount that should be added to federal taxable income 
based upon the recomputation of allowable depreciation. 
If depreciation was included in the computation of your 
federal taxable income and one or more of the depreciable 
assets received the special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation 
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from 
2001 through 2016, then depreciation must be recomputed 
for Virginia purposes as if such assets did not receive the 
special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation deduction for federal 
purposes in any taxable year from 2001 through 2016. If the 
total 2016 Virginia depreciation is less than 2016 federal 
depreciation, then the difference must be recognized as an 
addition. For further instructions, see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-
8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, and 16-1 which are available 
on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov, or call 
(804) 367-8037.



tax return. Therefore, an individual owner may only claim 
subtractions applicable to individual income tax, while a 
corporate owner may claim only those subtractions applicable 
to Virginia corporate income tax.
Line 14.  Fixed Date Conformity – Depreciation. Enter the 
amount that should be subtracted from federal taxable income 
based upon the recomputation of allowable depreciation. 
If depreciation was included in the computation of your 
federal taxable income and one or more of the depreciable 
assets received the special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation 
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from 
2001 through 2016, then depreciation must be recomputed 
for Virginia purposes as if such assets did not receive the 
special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation deduction for 
federal purposes in any taxable year from 2001 through 
2016. If the total 2016 Virginia depreciation is more than 
2016 federal depreciation, then the difference must be 
recognized as a subtraction. For further instructions, see 
Virginia Tax Bulletins  10-8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 
and 16-1 which are available on the Department’s website at  
www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037.
Line 15.  Fixed Date Conformity — Other. (1) Disposed 
Asset. If an asset was disposed of in 2016 and such asset 
received the special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation 
deduction for federal purposes in any taxable year from 
2001 through 2016, and a gain or loss was recognized for 
federal purposes, then the gain or loss must be recomputed 
as if such asset did not receive the special 30% or 50% 
bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any 
taxable year from 2001 through 2016. The adjustment will 
be the difference in the federal and Virginia  basis of the 
asset when sold. If the federal basis of the asset is lower 
than the Virginia basis (resulting in a greater gain for federal 
purposes), then the difference between the two bases is a 
subtraction on the Virginia return. For further instructions, 
see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1, 
and 16-1 which are available on the Department’s website at  
www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037.
(2) Other Changes Not Listed. Please refer to the 
Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov, for information 
on any other subtractions due to federal tax legislation that 
was passed after the publication deadline for the Form 502 
instructions. The Department’s website will also reflect any 
action by the Virginia General Assembly to advance the 
date of conformity to the IRC that may take place before the 
due date for your return. Enter any amounts described on 
www.tax.virginia.gov. Also, please attach a schedule and 
explanation of such subtractions.
Line 16. Interest on Obligations of the United States. Enter 
the amount of income (interest, dividends and gain) derived 
from obligations or the sale or exchange of obligations of 
the United States, and on obligations or securities of any 
authority, commission or instrumentality of the United States 
to the extent they are included in federal adjusted gross 
income but exempt from state income taxes under the laws of 
the United States. This includes, but is not limited to, stocks, 
bonds, treasury bills and treasury notes. It does not include 
interest on refunds of federal taxes, equipment purchase 
contracts or normal business transactions. 

Line 17.  Total Subtractions from Schedule 502ADJ. First 
complete Schedule 502ADJ, Section B. See the Schedule 
502ADJ instructions later in this book.  Enter the total 
subtractions from Schedule 502ADJ, Section B, Line 5.
Line 18. Total Subtractions. Add Lines 14 through 17.

Virginia Tax Credits 
Line 19.  Enter the total nonrefundable credits from Schedule 
502ADJ, Section C, Line 38.
Line 20.  Enter the total refundable credits from Schedule 
502ADJ, Section C, Line 46.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 2 OF FORM 502

Section 1 - Withholding Tax Payment Reconciliation
Line 1.  Total withholding tax due for nonresident owners.  
Enter the total tax required to be withheld on behalf of the 
nonresident owners. The total withholding tax due is generally 
5% of each nonresident owner’s share of income from Virginia 
sources (including additions and subtractions). The amount 
of withholding tax may be reduced by any tax credits that 
were earned by the PTE that pass through to nonresident 
owners provided the credits are applicable to the owners’ 
income tax return. Reminder: the PTE is not required to pay 
the withholding tax on behalf of the individual nonresident 
owners for whom it files Form 765 and should not withhold 
for those owners.
Line 2.  Total withholding tax paid. Enter the amount of 
withholding tax paid by the PTE that is named on Form 502 
and submitted directly to the Department prior to the return 
filing. Do not enter any amount that was withheld by another 
PTE in which this PTE is a nonresident owner and was issued 
a Schedule VK-1 reflecting an amount that was withheld by 
the other PTE.  Only amounts paid directly to the Department 
by the PTE filing Form 502 should be recorded on Line 2.  If 
another PTE has withheld erroneously on the PTE filing Form 
502, then the PTE should contact the other PTE and request 
reimbursement of the amount withheld in error. 
Line 3.  Overpayment. If Line 2 is greater than Line 1, enter 
the difference here. 
Line 4.  Balance of withholding tax due. If Line 2 is less 
than Line 1, enter the difference here.
Section 2 - Penalty and Interest Charges on Withholding 
Tax
Line 5. Extension penalty. The extension penalty may 
apply if the balance due on Line 4 is more than 10% of Line 
1.  Virginia law provides for an automatic extension of time 
for filing Form 502 for a period of 6 months after the original 
due date, or 30 days after the extended federal due date, 
whichever is later. Note: The automatic extension for filing 
federal partnership and estate and trust returns has been 
reduced to 5 months. This extension does not apply to the 
payment of the income tax withheld on behalf of the entity’s 
nonresident owners.  If the entity does not pay at least 90% of 
the required withholding tax by the original due date for filing 
Form 502 (or 100% of the previous year’s liability), provided 
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that the return for the previous year covered a 12-month period 
and reflected a tax liability, an extension penalty will apply to 
the balance of tax due after subtracting the payments on Line 
2 from the tax liability on Line 1.  The penalty is assessed at 
the rate of 2% per month or part of a month from the original 
due date for filing Form 502 through the date that the Form 
502 is filed.  The maximum extension penalty is 12%.  The 
extension penalty applies only if the Form 502 is filed within 
the extension period.
Extension Penalty Worksheet
A.	 Tax due after timely payments 

as reported on Line 2.		
B.	 Date the Form 502 was filed.	
C.	 Number of months from the due  

date through the date filed (count 
in 30-day increments and round  
up to the next full month).

D.	 Extension penalty percentage.
		  Multiply Line C by 2% (.02). Do not  

exceed 12%.		    			   %
E.	 Extension penalty. Multiply Line A  

by Line D.						    
Line 6. Late payment penalty on withholding tax due.  
The late filing penalty will apply if there is a balance due on 
Line 4 and Form 502 is being filed more than 6 months after 
the original due date or more than 30 days after the federal 
extended due date (federal extension of 5 months), whichever 
is later. If Form 502 is being filed after the specified dates, 
compute a late filing penalty of 30% of the tax due on Line 
4. The extension penalty does not apply in cases where the 
return is subject to the late filing penalty.
Line 7.  Interest. Interest may apply if there is a balance due 
on Line 4. If Line 4 reflects a balance of tax due and Form 502 
is being filed after the original due date, interest must also be 
accrued on the balance of tax due.  Interest is accrued at the 
underpayment rate established by IRC § 6621, plus 2%, from 
the due date of the return through the date the tax is paid.  
For current interest rates, visit the Department’s website at 
www.tax.virginia.gov.
Line 8.  Total penalty and interest due. Add Line 5, or Line 
6, (whichever applies) to Line 7.
Section 3 - Penalty for Late Filing of Form 502
Line 9.  Penalty for Late Filing of Form 502. If Form 502 
is being filed more than 6 months after the original due date, 
or more than 30 days after the federal extended due date, 
enter $1,200.
Section 4 - Withholding Overpayment
Any overpayment reported on Line 3 of Section 1 must be 
offset against any penalty and interest charges computed in 
Sections 2 and 3. 
Line 10.  Net overpayment.  
•	 If Line 8 or Line 9 exceeds Line 3, go to Line 13 below to 

compute the total payment due. 
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•	 Compare Line 6 and Line 9. If Line 6 is greater than Line 
9, subtract Line 8 from Line 3.

•	 If Line 9 is greater than Line 6, subtract the sum of Line 
7 and Line 9 from Line 3. 

•	 Otherwise, enter overpayment from Line 3.
Line 11.  Amount of withholding overpayment to be 
credited to 2017.  Enter the amount of the net overpayment 
from Line 10 that you want to apply as credit to income tax 
withheld for nonresident owners for Taxable Year 2017.
Line 12.  Amount of withholding overpayment to be 
refunded. Enter the amount of the net overpayment from 
Line 10 to be refunded to the entity. Subtract Line 11 from 
Line 10.  The total of Lines 11 and 12 cannot exceed the 
amount on Line 10.
Section 5 - Tax, Penalty, and Interest Due
Line 13. Balance of tax due plus extension penalty, if 
applicable. If there is an amount due on Line 4, enter the 
amount from Line 4, plus the extension penalty on Line 5, if 
applicable. If there is an overpayment on Line 3 and Line 8 
or Line 9 is greater than Line 3, enter Line 5 minus Line 3.
Line 14. Interest charges on withholding tax.  Enter the 
amount of interest due from Line 7. 
Line 15. Late filing penalty. Enter the greater of Line 6 or 
Line 9. 
Line 16. Total payment due.  Add Line 13, Line 14 and 
Line 15. 
Section 6 - Amount Due or Refund
Line 17. Motion Picture Production Tax Credit to be 
refunded directly to PTE. If the PTE elects to have this 
credit refunded at the entity level, enter the amount of credit 
authorized by Virginia Film Office in their certification letter. 
For more information about this credit, see Motion Picture 
Production Tax Credit in the Schedule 500CR instructions 
or contact: Virginia Film Office, 901 East Byrd Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219-4048, or call (800) 854-6233.
Line 18. Research and Development Expenses Tax 
Credit to be refunded directly to PTE. If the PTE elects 
to claim this credit at the entity level, enter the amount of 
credit available. 
Line 19. Total Amount of Tax Credit Refund. Add Line 
17 and Line 18. 
Line 20. Amount Due. If there is an amount due on Line 16 
and the amount exceeds the amount on Line 19, subtract 
Line 19 from Line 16.
Line 21. Amount of Refund. If there is an amount due on 
Line 16 and the amount is less than the amount on Line 19, 
subtract Line 16 from Line 19. If there is an amount on Line 
12, add Line 12 and Line 19.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE 502ADJ

Sections A and B - Virginia Modifications
To report Virginia Modifications (Additions and Subtractions) 
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incurred by a taxpayer used to claim the Telework 
Expenses Tax Credit must be added to the Virginia 
return.

	 21	 Food Crop Donation Tax Credit
To the extent a credit is allowed for growing food crops 
in the Commonwealth and donating such crops to a 
nonprofit food bank, an addition is required for any 
amount claimed by the taxpayer as a federal income 
tax deduction for such donation.

	 99	 Other (Attach Explanation)
		  This must include the amount of losses or deductions 

of an S Corporation that is subject to the Bank 
Franchise Tax, or the amount of any distributions from 
such an S Corporation. This addition will be claimed 
as a negative deduction (Code 112) on Line 8a of the 
shareholder’s Schedule ADJ.  See the worksheet in 
the individual income tax instruction booklet.

Section B – Subtraction Codes
Use the following codes to report amounts for Virginia 
Subtractions in Section B.

Code
	 10		 Any amounts included under the provisions of 

IRC § 78. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.5.)
	 11		  The amount of any refund or credit for overpayment 

of income taxes imposed by this state or any other 
taxing jurisdiction. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.4.)

	 12		 Any amount included therein by the operation of IRC 
§ 951 (subpart F income). (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.7.)

	 13		 Any amount included in federal taxable income that 
is foreign source income and defined as follows:

		 1) Interest other than interest derived from sources 
within the United States; 

		  2) Dividends other than dividends derived from 
sources within the United States; 

 		  3) Rents, royalties, license, and technical fees from 
property located or services performed without the 
United States or from any interest in such property 
including rents, royalties, or fees for the use of or 
the privilege of using without the United States any 
patents, copyrights, secret processes and formulas, 
goodwill, trademarks, trade brands, franchises, and 
other like properties; and

		  4) Gains, profits, or other income from the sale of 
intangible or real property located without the United 
States.

		  In determining the source of income for purposes of 
items 1 through 4 above, the provisions of IRC §§ 861, 
862, and 863 shall be applied. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 
C.8.)

	 14	 The amount of any dividends received from 
corporations in which the taxpaying corporation owns 

enter the 2-digit code and amount for the type of modification 
in Sections A and B below. Use Section A to report Additions 
and Section B to report Subtractions from the codes indicated 
below. If you have more than 4 additions to report in Section 
A, lines 1 – 4, enter the total additions on Section A, Line 1 
and enter Code “00.” If you have more than 4 subtractions 
to report in Section B, lines 1 – 4, enter the total subtractions 
on Section B, Line 1 and enter Code “00.” When you report 
Virginia modifications using Code “00,” you must attach an 
explanation of the amount entered to your return, including 
any applicable addition or subtraction codes.
Section A – Addition Codes
Use the following codes to report amounts for Virginia 
Additions in Section A.

 Code
	 10	 Interest on federally exempt U.S. obligations

Enter the amount of interest or dividends that are 
exempt from federal income tax, but taxable in 
Virginia, less related expenses. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-
322 B.2; 58.1-402 B.2.)

	 13	 Deduction for bad debts
		  The deduction for bad debts allowed in computing 

federal taxable income for a state or federal savings 
and loan association. (Va. Code § 58.1-403 1.)

	 14		 Unrelated business taxable income
The amount of unrelated business taxable income 
as defined by IRC § 512. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.5.)

	 15		 Royalty addback for intangible expenses
See the instructions for Schedule 500AB for additional 
information. Attach Schedule 500AB to Form 502. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.8.a.).

	 16	 Interest addback for intangible expenses
See the instructions for Schedule 500AB for additional 
information. Attach Schedule 500AB to Form 502. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.9.a.)

	 18	 Income from Dealer Disposition of Property
Enter the amount that would be reported under 
the installment method from certain dispositions of 
property. If, in a prior year, the taxpayer was allowed a 
subtraction for certain income from dealer dispositions 
of property made on or after January 1, 2009, in the 
years following the year of disposition, the taxpayer 
is required to add back the amount that would have 
been reported under the installment method. Each 
disposition must be tracked separately for purposes 
of this adjustment. (Va Code § 58.1-402 F.)

	  20	 Telework Expenses
Pass-through entities that claim the Virginia Telework 
Expenses Tax Credit are not allowed to exclude 
those expenses from Virginia income. To the extent 
excluded from federal taxable income, any expenses 
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50% more of the voting stock, to the extent included in 
federal taxable income and to the extent not otherwise 
subtracted from federal taxable income. (Va. Code § 
58.1-402 C.10.) 

	 15	 The dividends of a Domestic International Sales 
Corporation, 50% or more of the income of which 
was assessable for the preceding year, or the last 
year, in which such corporation has income under 
the provision of the income tax laws of Virginia. (Va. 
Code § 58.1-402 C.3.)

	 16	 The amount that could have been deducted by a gas 
supplier, pipeline distribution company, or gas utility 
company, as a net operating loss carryover or net 
capital loss in arriving at taxable income except that 
such loss or portion thereof had been carried back for 
federal purposes to a taxable year before it became 
subject to Virginia income tax.  To the  extent that the 
recomputed loss is carried back more than 2 years, it 
may be subject to the modification for deconformity. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-403 (9).) 

	 17	 A gas supplier, pipeline distribution company, gas 
utility company, or electric supplier (except an electric 
cooperative) that was subject to the state license tax 
on gross receipts in 2000, and became subject to 
Virginia income tax in 2001, may amortize its Virginia 
tax basis using the straight-line method over a period 
of 30 years, beginning on the adjustment date.  The 
Virginia tax basis is the aggregate adjusted book 
basis less aggregate adjusted tax basis of assets 
placed in service prior to the first day of the taxable 
year that the company became subject to Virginia 
income tax. (Va. Code § 58.1-440.1.) 

	 20	 The amount of income derived from Virginia  
obligations or the sale or exchange of Virginia 
obligations that are included in federal adjusted gross 
income. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-402 C.2.; 58.1-322 C.2.)

	 21	 The amount of wages and salaries eligible for the 
Federal Work Opportunity Tax Credit that are not 
deducted for federal tax purposes. (Va. Code §§ 
58.1-402 C.6; 58.1-322 C.6.)

	 22	 The amount of intangible expenses and costs or 
interest expenses and costs added to the federal 
taxable income of a corporation shall be subtracted 
from the federal taxable income of the related member 
if the related member is subject to Virginia income tax 
on the same amount. See the Form 500 instructions 
for additional information. Attach Schedule 500AB to 
Form 502 (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.21.)

	 41	 The amount of income received as a result of 
payments made under the Tobacco Master Settlement 
Agreement, the National Tobacco Grower Settlement 
Trust and the Tobacco Loss Assistance Program. (Va. 
Code §§ 58.1-402 C.18.; 58.1-322 C.27.)

	 43	 The amount contributed to the Virginia Public School 
Construction Grants Program and Fund that has not 

been claimed as a deduction on the taxpayer’s federal 
income tax return. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-402 C.15; 
58.1-322 D.8.) Note: This deduction will be claimed 
as a deduction (Code 107) on the owner’s individual 
income tax return. 

	 48	 The amount of payments received in the preceding 
year in accordance with the Tobacco Quota Buyout 
Program of the American Jobs Creation Act of 2004	
to the extent they are included in federal taxable 
income.  For example, on the 2016 return the taxpayer 
may subtract the portion of such payments received 
in 2015 that is included in the taxpayer’s 2015 federal 
taxable income; while payments received in 2016 
may generate a subtraction on the 2017 Virginia 
return. If the taxpayer chooses to accept payment in 
installments, the gain from the installment received 
in the preceding year may be subtracted. If, however, 
the taxpayer opted to receive a single payment, 
10% of the gain recognized for federal purposes 
in the year that the payment was received may be 
subtracted in the following year and in each of the 9 
succeeding taxable years. (Va. Code §§ 58.1-402 D; 
58.1-322 D.11.) Note: This deduction will be claimed 
as a deduction (Code 108) on the owner’s individual 
income tax return.

	 49	 Income from Dealer Disposition of Property - 
An adjustment is allowed for certain income from 
dealer dispositions of property made on or after 
January 1, 2009.  In the year of disposition the 
adjustment will be a subtraction for gain attributable 
to installment payments that are to be made in future 
taxable years provided that (i) the gain arises from an 
installment sale for which federal law does not permit 
the dealer to elect installment reporting of income, 
and (ii) the dealer elects installment treatment of 
the income for Virginia purposes on or before the 
due date prescribed by law for filing the taxpayer’s 
income tax return.  In subsequent taxable years, the 
adjustment will be an addition for gain attributable 
to any payments made during the taxable year with 
respect to the disposition.  Each disposition must be 
tracked separately for purposes of this adjustment. 
(Va. Code §§ 58.1-402 F; 58.1-322 H.)

	 50	 Gains from Land Preservation - Enter the amount 
of federal gain or income recognized as a result of the 
sale of Land Preservation Tax Credits. A subtraction 
is allowed for any gain or income recognized by a 
taxpayer on the application of Land Preservation 
Tax Credits against Virginia income tax liability to 
the extent the gain is included in and not otherwise 
subtracted from federal adjusted gross income. The 
transfer of the credit and its application against a tax 
liability shall not create gain or loss for the transferor 
or the transferee.

	 51	 Certain Long-Term Capital Gain - Provided the long-
term capital gain or investment services partnership 
income is attributable to an investment in a “qualified 
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business” as defined in Va. Code § 58.1-339.4 or any 
other technology business approved by the Secretary 
of Technology, it may be allowed as a subtraction.  
The business must have its principal facility in Virginia 
and less than $3 million in annual revenues for the 
fiscal year preceding the investment.  The investment 
must be made between the dates of April 1, 2010, 
and June 30, 2020. Taxpayers claiming the Qualified 
Equity and Subordinated Debt Investments Credit 
cannot claim this subtraction relating to investments 
in the same business. In addition, no investment is 
“qualified” for this subtraction if the business performs 
research in Virginia on human embryonic stem cells.

	 52	 Gain from Historic Rehabilitation - To the extent 
that it is included in federal taxable income, any 
amount of gain or income recognized by a taxpayer in 
connection with the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit 
is allowed as a subtraction on the Virginia return. 

	 99	 Other (Attach Explanation). This must include the 
amount of income or gain of an S corporation that is 
subject to Bank Franchise Tax. This deduction (Code 
112) will be claimed on the shareholder’s income tax 
return. See the worksheet in the individual income tax 
instructions.

Section C - Virginia Tax Credits
Tax credits based on a PTE’s activities are passed through 
to the owners, generally in proportion to each owner’s 
percentage of ownership or participation in the entity (although 
the legislation for a particular credit may allow for other 
allocation). When the credit is subject to a limitation, the 
limitation applies to the total credit of the PTE (the aggregate 
of the owners’ shares), not to each owner’s share separately.
Pass-through entities do not use or compute credit carryovers.  
A PTE passes through to each owner the owner’s share of 
each credit earned by the PTE for that year. Each owner must 
then determine the manner in which, with respect to its own 
circumstances, the credits can be used (including carryovers).
For most credits, specific documentation must be attached 
to the return of the PTE and the return of the owner. See the 
instructions for Schedule CR or Schedule 500CR, or visit 
the Department’s website, www.tax.virginia.gov, for more 
information about each credit and its required documentation. 
Without proper documentation, the credit will not be 
allowed.
For information on specific credits, see either the Schedule 
CR instructions (Individuals) or the Tax Credits section of the 
Form 500 instructions. 
Exception: There are currently two refundable credits that the 
PTE may elect to have refunded at the entity level. They are 
the Motion Picture Production Tax Credits and the Research 
and Development Expenses Tax Credit. If the PTE makes this 
election, the full amount of the credit(s) will be refunded to the 
PTE reduced by any outstanding tax assessments.
State Income Tax Paid: Many states follow the federal tax 
treatment of pass-through entities and apply income tax to 
the entity’s income only at the owner level. Some states, 

however, may not recognize the federal S corporation election 
or may otherwise impose an income tax directly on a PTE. If 
the PTE properly paid a direct state income tax, owners who 
are individuals may qualify to claim the “credit for tax paid to 
another state” on their Virginia individual income tax returns, 
based on their proportional shares of the tax paid by the PTE.
The credit for tax paid to another state is based only on an 
income tax on earned or business income, or gain on the sale 
of an asset. Other taxes do not qualify, including any franchise, 
license, excise, unincorporated business or occupation tax, 
or any tax characterized as such by the taxing jurisdiction, 
even if the tax is based on earned or business income.  A tax 
that would be illegal or unauthorized in the taxing jurisdiction 
if it were characterized as an income tax or a commuter tax 
does not qualify. 
If the PTE paid a direct state income tax for which an individual 
owner could claim the credit for tax paid to another state based 
on his or her proportional share, enter the total amount of 
such tax paid by the entity, and attach a schedule identifying 
each taxing jurisdiction with a description of the tax and the 
amount paid. 
Do not include any taxes paid by the entity that reflect another 
state’s income tax withholding requirement on behalf of 
specific owners, or that were paid in connection with another 
state’s equivalent to Form 765 on behalf of specific owners.  
These amounts may be shown with appropriate descriptions 
on the Schedule VK-1 of each specific owner that is affected, 
but should not be included in the amount on Section C, Line 
1, of Form 502 ADJ, which will be distributed to all owners 
based on each owner’s participation percentage.
Credit Allocation  
The following credits must be allocated among owners in 
proportion to each owner’s percentage of ownership or 
participation in the PTE:
•	 State Income Tax Paid (See above) 	
•	 Neighborhood Assistance Act Credit
•	 Enterprise Zone Act General Tax Credit
•	 Conservation Tillage Equipment Credit
•	 Biodiesel and Green Diesel Fuels Tax Credit
•	 Precision Fertilizer and Pesticide Application 

Equipment Credit
•	 Recyclable Materials Processing Equipment Credit
•	 Clean-Fuel Vehicle Job Creation Tax Credit
•	 Major Business Facility Job Tax Credit
•	 Day-Care Facility Investment Tax Credit
•	 Agricultural Best Management Practices Tax Credit
•	 Worker Retraining Tax Credit
•	 Waste Motor Oil Burning Equipment Credit
•	 Riparian Forest Buffer Protection for Waterways Tax  

Credit
•	 Communities of Opportunity Tax Credit
•	 Green Jobs Creation Tax Credit



•	 Farm Wineries and Vineyards Tax Credit
•	 International Trade Facility Tax Credit
•	 Port Volume Increase Tax Credit
•	 Barge and Rail Usage Tax Credit
•	 Livable Home Tax Credit
•	 Telework Expenses Tax Credit
•	 Education Improvement Scholarships Tax Credit
•	 Food Crop Donation Tax Credit
These credits may be allocated among owners in proportion 
to each owner’s percentage of ownership or participation in 
the PTE, or as the owners may mutually agree, or as provided 
in the partnership agreement or other entity document.
•	 Enterprise Zone Act Zone Investment Tax Credit
•	 Clean-Fuel Vehicle Credit and Vehicle Emissions  

Testing Equipment Credit
•	 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
•	 Land Preservation Tax Credit
•	 Qualified Equity and Subordinated Debt Investments 

Tax Credit
•	 Virginia Coal Employment and Production Incentive 

Tax Credit
•	 Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
•	 Major Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
Form PTE - Virginia Pass-Through Credit Allocation
Form PTE must be filed with the Tax Credit Unit to allocate 
certain tax credits to owners before they can be claimed by 
the owners on their Virginia Income Tax Returns. See Form 
PTE for a list of those credit types. Form PTE must be filed 
with the Tax Credit Unit by the pass-through entity within 30 
days of certification of the credit but at least 90 days prior to 
the participants filing their income tax returns.
For more information, write to: Virginia Department of 
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715, or call (804) 786-2992.
Line 38. Total nonrefundable credits. Add Lines 1-19 and 
Lines 22-37. 
Lines 39-45. These credits provide for refunds of amounts 
that exceed the tax due.
	 -	 Coalfield Employment Enhancement Tax Credit
	 -	 Virginia Coal Employment and Production Incentive Tax 

Credit
	 -	 Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 
	 -	 Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
Line 46. Total refundable credits. Add Lines 42, 44, 
and 45. All pass-through entities distributing credits to 
owner(s), shareholders, partners, or members must give 
each a Schedule VK-1, Owner’s Share of Income and 
Virginia Modifications and Credits.  Also, a Schedule VK-1 
Consolidated must be included with the return. If the Schedule 
VK-1 Consolidated is completed, do not enclose each owners 
Schedule VK-1.

Section D - Amended Return
If the PTE is filing an amended return, complete Form 502 
using the corrected figures, as if it were the original return. 
Do not make any adjustments to the amended return to show 
that the PTE received a refund or paid a balance due as the 
result of the original return. Then complete Form 502ADJ, 
Section D, Lines 1-6 to determine if the PTE is due a refund 
or any additional tax is due with the amended return. When 
completing Line 1, enter tax paid prior to filing the return, tax 
paid with the return, and additional tax paid after the return 
was filed. 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR VIRGINIA SCHEDULE VK-1 
AND SCHEDULE VK-1 CONSOLIDATED - OWNER’S 
SHARE OF INCOME AND VIRGINIA MODIFICATIONS 

AND CREDITS

General Instructions
Schedule VK-1 or Schedule VK-1 Consolidated is prepared by 
the PTE to show each owner’s distributive or pro rata share of 
the entity’s income, Virginia modifications and Virginia credits, 
and other information necessary for an owner to be able to 
include the effect of participation in the entity in the owner’s 
income tax return.  Schedule VK-1 does not replace federal 
Schedule K-1; it is a supplement to the federal schedule for 
those state tax issues that require additional information.  The 
PTE will prepare a Schedule VK-1 for each owner; a copy 
should be given to each owner, and a copy should be included 
with the entity’s Form 502 submission to the Department. 
Use the Web Upload application on the Department’s 
website, www.tax.virginia.gov, to submit Schedules VK-1 
electronically.

Schedule VK-1 Consolidated
Use this template only if the PTE has been granted a 
waiver from the electronic filing mandate.  Schedule VK-1 
Consolidated allows taxpayers to report multiple owners 
on one Excel summary sheet. The PTE will continue to 
send a copy of the Schedule VK-1 to each owner for filing 
purposes, but will not need to send a copy of each owner’s 
Schedule VK-1 to the Department.  In its place, a summary 
of each owner’s share will be reported on the Schedule VK-1 
Consolidated and sent to the Department for processing. 
Use the Form 502 instructions with the Schedule VK-1 
Consolidated form layout for field computations, additions, 
subtractions, tax tables, and mailing addresses. To avoid 
the disclosure of confidential taxpayer information, the PTE 
must not send the summary to its owners.
If filing by paper, PTEs reporting 10 or more owners must use 
the Schedule VK-1 Consolidated to report the owner’s share 
of income, modifications, allocations, and the total additions, 
subtractions, and credits reported on the Schedule VK-1. 
A Schedule VK-1 Consolidated template is available for 
download from the Corporation and Pass-Through Entity 
Forms section of the Department’s website. Users may create 
their own forms using the form layout; however, they must 
adhere to the form layout requirements and specifications 
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in the Schedule VK-1 Consolidated Summary to ensure 
accurate processing of the Schedule VK-1 Consolidated.  
The Schedule VK-1 Consolidated Summary is available 
on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov. 
The Summary’s Appendix contains detailed steps for using 
Excel, including screen shots.
Additional Owner Information
Line a: Date Owner Acquired Interest in the PTE. Enter in 
MM/DD/YYYY format.
Line b: Owner’s Entity Type.  Enter the code that corresponds 
to the owner’s entity type:
Entity Type	 Code
Individual Who Was a Virginia Resident.....................RES
Individual Who Was Not a Virginia Resident............. NON
General Partnership.....................................................PG
Limited Partnership.......................................................PL
Limited Liability Company............................................. LL
Limited Liability Partnership..........................................LP
S Corporation............................................................... SC
C Corporation...............................................................CC
Trust or Estate...............................................................TE
Other............................................................................OB
Line c: Owner’s Participation Type.  Enter the code 
that corresponds to the owner’s type of membership or 
participation in the PTE:
Participant Type	 Code
General Partner..........................................................GPT
Limited Partner............................................................LPT
LLC/LLP Member....................................................... LLM
S Corporation Shareholder.........................................SHR
Other..........................................................................OTR
Line d: Owner’s Participation Percentage.  For an S 
corporation shareholder, enter the owner’s percentage of 
stock ownership for the taxable year, as shown on the owner’s 
federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1120S), Line F.  For a partner or 
other recipient of federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), enter 
the ending percentage for the partner’s profit share as shown 
on the Schedule K-1, under Line J. 
For a partner in an electing large partnership, the federal 
Schedule K-1 (Form 1065B) does not indicate a participation 
percentage, but the partnership must determine such a 
percentage in order to distribute Virginia modifications and 
credits among the owners.  The percentage should be 
determined in a manner substantially similar to the profit 
sharing percentage at the end of the year provided for a 
regular partnership, unless there is compelling reason to use 
another method.
The participation percentages as shown on Schedules VK-1 
for all owners of the PTE should equal 100%.
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The participation percentage should be entered as a percent 
with two decimal places.  For instance, the participation 
percentage for an S corporation shareholder who holds one-
third ownership is entered as “33.33%.”
Line e: Amount Withheld by PTE for Owner. Enter the 
amount withheld by the PTE for the nonresident owner.
Line f: Withholding Exemption.  If the entity does not have 
to pay the withholding tax or if it is not required to include the 
income of an owner in its withholding tax calculations, enter 
the exemption code in the space provided.
Withholding Exemption Reason	 Code
Exempt from federal or Virginia income tax 
(individuals).................................................................. 01
Entities other than individuals and corporations  
that are exempt from federal income taxes.................. 02
Individual owner is included in a composite return........... 03
PTE is a publicly traded partnership ............................ 04
Corporations exempt from Virginia income tax; or  
noncaptive REITs......................................................... 05
Undue hardship (PTE).................................................. 06
PTE’s income is from rents with 4 or fewer 
dwelling units................................................................ 07
Line Instructions
Page 1, Lines 1 - 18 and Page 2 - Virginia Tax Credits. 
These items on Schedule VK-1 correspond to related items 
with the same line numbers on Lines 1-11 of Form 502 and 
to certain lines of Sections A, B, and C of Form 502ADJ.  In 
general, Form 502 and Form 502ADJ show the PTE’s total 
amount for the item, while each Schedule VK-1 shows one 
owner’s share of the item. The owner’s share of an item is 
usually determined by the owner’s participation percentage 
(see above), but some partnership agreements may provide 
for special allocations.  The entries on each line of the 
Schedules VK-1 for all owners of the PTE should equal the 
corresponding entry on Form 502 and Form 502ADJ, except 
for Line 7.  The entry on Line 7 will be the same for all owners 
of the entity and the same as Line 7 of Form 502 (the PTE’s 
Virginia apportionment percentage).
Additions, subtractions, and credits should be allocated 
among owners in proportion to each owner’s percentage of 
ownership or participation in the PTE, or as provided in the 
partnership agreement or other entity document. However, 
each owner may only claim the additions, subtractions, or 
credits allowed on the owner’s Virginia income tax return. 
Therefore, an individual owner may only claim additions, 
subtractions or credits applicable to individual income tax, 
while a corporate owner may claim only those additions, 
subtractions, or credits applicable to the Virginia corporate 
income tax.
The Virginia Public School Construction Grants Program and 
Fund (Code 43) and the Tobacco Quota Buyout Program 
(Code 48) deductions must be claimed as deductions on the 
shareholder’s individual income tax return. The deduction for 



an S-corporation subject to Bank Franchise Tax is reported 
as an “other” addition or subtraction on Schedule VK-1 and 
as a positive or negative deduction on the owner’s individual 
income tax return. For the Schedule VK-1 Consolidated, report 
Lines 1-11 and totals from Lines 13, 18, and 46.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE 502A - ALLOCATION 
AND APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME FOR PASS-

THROUGH ENTITIES

General Information
A PTE must determine the extent to which its income is from 
Virginia sources. This determination is made in the same 
manner as provided by law for corporations (Va. Code §§ 58.1-
405 through 58.1-421), with such accommodation as may 
be necessary considering the differences between regular 
taxpaying corporations and pass-through entities (PTE).
Retail Company Apportionment Factor Change
For taxable years beginning on and after July 1, 2015, retail 
companies are required to use a single sales factor method 
of apportionment.
Apportionment Factor for Enterprise Data Center 
Operations
For taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2016 until July 
1, 2017, a taxpayer with an enterprise data center operation 
who enters into a memorandum of understanding with the 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership (VEDP) to 
make a new approved capital investment of at least $150 
million in an enterprise data center in Virginia are required 
to apportion income within and without the Commonwealth 
using a quadruple-weighted sales factor. For taxable years 
beginning on or after July 1, 2017, such taxpayers must use 
a single-weighted sales factor method of apportionment.
When Income Is All from Virginia Sources
If a PTE conducts its entire business within Virginia, then all 
of its income is Virginia source income.  A PTE is presumed 
to be doing business entirely within Virginia unless it is 
subject to (or would be subject to if it were a regular taxpaying 
corporation) one of the following taxes in another state: 1) a tax 
imposed on net income; 2) a franchise or other tax measured 
by net income; or 3) a franchise tax for the privilege of doing 
business.  An entity is “subject to” such a tax if it carries on 
sufficient activity within a state that the state has jurisdiction 
to impose the tax, whether or not the state actually imposes 
the tax.  The activities must be considered in the light of 
Public Law (“P.L.”) 86-272 (15 U.S.C. §§ 381-384).  If federal 
law would prohibit the state from imposing the tax because 
the entity’s activities in the state were not of a certain type 
or did not exceed a certain threshold, then the state does 
not have jurisdiction, and the entity is not subject to the 
state’s tax for purposes of allowing the entity to allocate and 
apportion income away from Virginia. In addition, an entity is 
not subject to a tax in a state if it voluntarily pays the tax but 
is not required to do so by the laws of that state, or if it pays 
a fee for qualification, organization, or the privilege of doing 
business in the state but either: 1) does not actually engage 
in business in the state; or 2) engages in some business in 
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the state, not sufficient for nexus, and the tax or fee bears no 
relation to the entity’s activities in the state.
When Income Is from Virginia and Other States
If a PTE’s income is not all Virginia source income, as defined 
above, and the entity conducts its business in Virginia and in 
one or more other states, then the portion of total income that 
is Virginia source income is determined through allocation and 
apportionment. Allocation is the assignment of income, or a 
piece of income, wholly to one state or another. Apportionment 
is the division of income among states according to the ratio 
of activities in one place to activities everywhere. 
Who Must Use Schedule 502A
Schedule 502A is used to show the amount of allocated 
income and to determine the apportionment percentage.
If the PTE’s income is all from Virginia, then the entity does 
not allocate and apportion income; the Virginia apportionment 
percentage is 100%, and Schedule 502A is not required. In 
all other cases, the PTE must prepare a Schedule 502A and 
attach it to Form 502. The owners may also need a copy of 
Schedule 502A from the PTE in order to prepare their own 
returns properly (see the next section).
Effect of Schedule 502A on Owners of the PTE
A PTE does not calculate a net taxable income amount for 
each owner. Rather, it determines each owner’s distributive 
share of various types of income, gains, losses, deductions 
and credits. Each owner then uses that information as 
applicable, plus the PTE’s allocation and apportionment 
information from Schedule 502A, in determining its Virginia 
taxable income. How each owner uses the PTE’s information 
will vary, however, depending on the owner’s entity type. Refer 
to the Form 502 instructions for more information. 
Allocable and Apportionable Income
Virginia law provides that dividends received are to be 
allocated to the state of commercial domicile, and that all 
other income must be apportioned as directed in Va Code 
§§ 58.1‑408 ‑ 58.1‑420. Virginia law does not allow for 
subtractions from apportionable income based on separate 
or divisional accounting, or for the exclusion of non-Virginia 
investment income. 
Line Instructions
Enter the company’s name and FEIN.
If filing a composite return (Form 765), check the box as 
indicated. The “unified (composite) nonresident return filed” 
check box must also be marked on Form 502. Please attach 
a completed Schedule 502A with Form 765 if a composite 
return is filed by the business owners.
Section A - Apportionable Method
All income of the PTE except the class of income allocable as 
specified in the instructions for Section C, Line 3 is apportioned 
to this state in accordance with the items below. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-408.)
Line 1.  Motor carriers. If a motor carrier and an exception 
applies, check the proper box for Exception 1 or Exception 2. 
See the instructions for Section B, Line 1 for more information.



Line 2.  Financial companies. Check this box if the PTE 
is a financial company. Financial companies must apportion 
income based on cost of performance in Virginia versus cost 
of performance everywhere.  See the instructions for Section 
B, Line 1 for more information.
Line 3.  Construction companies. Check this box if the PTE 
is a construction company that has elected to report income 
on the completed contract basis.  Construction companies that 
have made this election must apportion income as provided 
in the instructions for Section B, Line 1.
Line 4.  Railway companies. Check this box if the PTE is a 
railway company.  Railway companies must determine their 
net apportionable income by using revenue car miles.  See 
the instructions for Section B, Line 1 for more information.
Line 5.  Retail Company Apportionment. Check this box if 
the company is a retail company.  
For purposes of this requirement, a retail company is defined 
as a domestic or foreign company primarily engaged in 
activities that, in accordance with the NAICS, United States 
Manual, United States Office of Management and Budget, 
1997 Edition, would be included in Sectors 44-45.
A retail company is required to apportion its income using a 
single sales factor method of apportionment for taxable years 
beginning on and after July 1, 2015.
Line 6. Manufacturer’s modified apportionment method: 
Check this box if a manufacturer is electing the modified 
apportionment method under Va. Code § 58.1-422. See 
the publications section on the Department’s website at  
www.tax.virginia.gov to download the guidelines for this 
apportionment method. 
Which Manufacturers Qualify: An electing manufacturer  
must certify to the Department that the average weekly wage 
of its full-time employees was greater than the lower of the 
state or local average weekly wage for the taxpayer’s industry. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-422.)
In addition, the PTE must maintain 90% of the base year level 
of employment in Virginia for the first 3 taxable years after 
making the election.  If a PTE fails to meet this requirement, it 
will be required to reapportion income based on the standard 
apportionment and provide the owners with corrected income 
amounts. The owners will be required to pay the difference 
between taxes calculated under the standard method of 
apportionment and taxes calculated under the election, as 
well as interest and a 10% penalty.  (Va. Code § 58.1-422.)
Effective for taxable years on or after July 1, 2011, 
manufacturing pass-through entities may elect to use the 
modified apportionment method. Once a manufacturing 
PTE makes this election, it generally may neither revoke 
such election for 3 taxable years nor amend the return on 
which such election was made to change its method of 
apportionment.  The manufacturing company will be required 
to use the apportionment factor that is effective at the time 
that the modified apportionment method election is made, 
and any apportionment factor that becomes effective in the 
first 3 taxable years after the election.
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Line 6a.  Enter the beginning date (MM/DD/YY) of the election 
year.
Line 6b.  A taxpayer making this election must certify that 
the average weekly wage of its full-time employees is greater 
than the lower of the state or local average weekly wages for 
its industry and that the average annual number of full-time 
employees of the manufacturing company is at least 90% of 
the base year employment.  Check the box certifying that the 
company meets the requirements.  The wage and employment 
certification box should be checked for each year that the 
manufacturer’s election is claimed.
Manufacturer does not maintain employment levels for 
modified apportionment method election.  A manufacturer 
will be subject to additional tax (recapture) and interest if the 
average weekly wage of its full-time employees is lower than 
the state or local weekly wage for its industry or its number of 
full-time employees do not equal or exceed 90 % of its base 
year employment level.  The amount of the recapture is equal 
to the difference between the tax that would have been due 
under the standard apportionment method and the amount of 
tax that was due using the modified apportionment method for 
each of the first 3 years in which the average weekly wage of 
its full-time employees was lower than the state or local weekly 
wage for its industry or its number of full-time employees did 
not equal or exceed 90% of its base year employment level.  
The Department will generally assess the manufacturer  with 
the amount required to be recaptured and any interest due.  
However, a manufacturer that fails, or anticipates that it will 
fail, to meet the wage and employment requirements may 
file returns for the taxable years for which recapture would 
be required, using the statutory apportionment method, 
and pay any taxes and interest due on such returns in lieu 
of waiting to receive an assessment of such amounts due 
from the Department.  Such company must submit a written 
explanation with its return detailing why it is changing to the 
statutory apportionment method. 
If you file an amended return and voluntarily change your 
apportionment method because you anticipate that you will 
fail to meet the wage and employment requirements,file an 
amended return by completing a new return for the year of 
adjustment using the corrected figures,as if it were the original 
return. Do not make any adjustments to the amended return 
to show that the you received a refund or paid a balance 
due as the result of the original return.  Be sure to check 
the amended return box on Form 502, complete a revised 
Schedule 502A, and the Amended Return section on Page 2 
of Schedule 502ADJ.
Line 7.  Enterprise Data Center Operation: For taxable 
years beginning on or after July 1, 2016 until July 1, 2017, 
a taxpayer with an enterprise data center operation that 
enters into a memorandum of understanding with the Virginia 
Economic Development Partnership (VEDP) to make a new 
capital investment of at least $150 million in an enterprise 
data center in Virginia is required to apportion Virginia 
taxable income using a quadruple-weighted sales factor 
For taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2017, such 
taxpayers are required to use the single sales factor method 
of apportionment.



Line 8. Multi-Factor Formula with Double-Weighted Sales 
Factor:  Check if using the multi-factor apportionment formula 
with a double-weighted sales factor. 
Section B - Apportionable Percentage
Line 1.  Single Factor Computations: Motor Carriers, 
Financial Companies, Construction Companies, Railway 
Companies, Retail Companies and Manufacturers who 
elected the Modified Apportionment Method in Section A. 
For taxpayers using the single-factor computation, check 
the appropriate box for the PTE’s entity type (motor carrier, 
financial corporation, construction corporation, railway 
company, retail company, qualified manufacturer’s modified 
apportionment) on Lines 1 through 6 of Section A. Based on 
the appropriate computation method for your entity type or 
election, enter the total, Virginia, and percentage on Line 1, 
Section B. For example: railway companies are to use the 
ratio of revenue car miles in Virginia to total revenue miles of 
the corporation everywhere.
Motor carriers: Motor carriers of property or passengers 
using highways of this state must, unless they meet one 
of the two exceptions set forth below, apportion their net 
apportionable income to Virginia using the ratio of vehicle 
miles in this state to total vehicle miles everywhere. “Vehicle 
miles” means miles traveled by vehicles, owned or operated 
by the taxpayer, hauling property, or carrying passengers for 
a charge or fare.
A carrier meeting either of the exceptions set forth below is 
not required to apportion income to Virginia. In such cases, 
a return must be filed, but it is necessary only to enter the 
name and address on appropriate lines, enter zero on  
Line 7, Form 502, check the appropriate box(es) on Schedule 
502A, Section A, Line 1 and complete Section B, Line 1 of 
Schedule 502A. (Va. Code § 58.1-417.)
Exception 1:	A carrier which neither owns nor rents real or 
tangible personal property inside this state except vehicles, 
makes no pickups or deliveries inside this state, and travels 
no more than 50,000 “vehicle miles” inside this state; provided 
that the Virginia “vehicle miles” are less than 5% of total 
vehicle miles.
Exception 2:	A carrier which neither owns nor rents real or 
tangible personal property inside this state except vehicles, 
and which makes no more than 12 round trips into this state 
during the taxable year, either hauling property or carrying 
passengers; provided that the Virginia “vehicle miles” are less 
than 5% of total vehicle miles traveled during the taxable year.
Financial companies:  A financial company is a company that 
is not exempted from the imposition of tax under the provisions 
of Va. Code § 58.1-401, which derives more than 70% of 
its gross income from the classes of income enumerated in 
items 1 through 4 below, without reference to the state where 
the income is earned, including, but not limited to, small loan 
companies, sales finance companies, brokerage companies, 
and investment companies:
1.	 Fees, commissions, other compensation for financial 

services rendered;

2.	 Gross profits from trading in stocks, bonds, or other  
securities;

3.	 Interest; and
4.	 Dividends that are included in Virginia taxable income. In 

computing the amounts referred to in items 1 through 4 
above, any amount received by a member of an affiliated 
group (determined under IRC § 1504(a), but without 
reference to whether any such company is an includible 
company under IRC § 1504(b)) from another member of 
such group, will be included only to the extent that the 
amount exceeds the related expenses of the recipient.

The Virginia taxable income of a financial company, as defined 
in Va. Code § 58.1-418, excluding income allocable under 
Va. Code § 58.1-407, shall be apportioned within and without 
this state in the ratio that the business within Virginia is to 
total business of the corporation. Business within this state 
shall be based on cost of performance in Virginia over cost of 
performance everywhere. (Va. Code § 58.1-418.)
Cost of Performance Factor
(a)	 The cost of performance is the cost of all activities 
directly performed by the taxpayer for the ultimate purpose of 
obtaining gains or profit, except activities directly performed by 
the taxpayer for the ultimate purpose of obtaining dividends 
allocable under the provisions of Va. Code § 58.1-407.
	 (i) Such activities do not include those performed on 

behalf  of a taxpayer, such as those performed by an 
independent contractor.

	 (ii)The cost of performance does not include the cost 
of funds (interest, etc.), but does include the cost of 
activities required to procure loans or other financing.

(b)	 Activities constituting the cost of performance are 
deemed performed at the situs of real and tangible personal 
property or the place at which or from which activities are 
performed by employees of a taxpayer.
(c)	 Cost of performance of a financial institution within 
and without Virginia shall be determined without regard to 
the location of borrowers, location of property in which the 
financial company has only a security interest, or the cost to 
the financial company of the funds which it lends. (23 Virginia 
Administrative Code (VAC) 10-120-250.)
Construction companies: Construction companies which 
have elected to report income on the completed contract basis 
for federal income tax purposes must apportion income within 
and without this state in the ratio that the business within this 
state is to total business of the company. The business within 
and without this state is based upon “sales” as defined by Va. 
Code § 58.1-302, to the extent that it is included in taxable 
income, and is determined as provided by Va. Code §§ 58.1-
414 through 58.1-419. All other construction companies must 
determine Virginia taxable income by reference to Va. Code 
§§ 58.1-406 through 58.1-416.
Railway companies: Railway companies must determine 
their net apportionable income to this state by multiplying 
Virginia taxable income of such company, excluding the 
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income allocable under Va. Code § 58.1-407, by the use of 
the ratio of revenue car miles in this state to total revenue car 
miles of the company everywhere.
“Revenue car mile” in the case of railway carriers of property 
or passengers means the movement of a unit of loaded car 
equipment a distance of one mile. The loaded car miles must 
be determined in accordance with the Uniform System of 
Accounts for Railroad Companies of the Interstate Commerce 
Commission. (Va. Code § 58.1-420.)
Manufacturers Modified Apportionment Method: Use 
the single sales factor apportionment if the PTE elected the 
Manufacturer’s Modified Apportionment Method in Section A 
with a taxable year beginning on or after July 1, 2014. Enter 
the Total, Virginia, and Percentage on Section B, Line 1.
Line 2.  Multifactor Computation:  Three-Factor Formula 
- Multistate companies are generally required to use a three-
factor formula of property, payroll and double-weighted sales. 
The sum of the property factor, payroll factor and twice the 
sales factor is divided by 4 to arrive at the final apportionment 
factor. For taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2015, 
retail companies are required to apportion their income using a 
single sales factor method of apportionment. See the specific 
instructions that follow.
Line 2a.  Property factor: The property factor is a fraction, 
the numerator of which is the average value of the company’s 
real and tangible personal property that is owned and used or 
rented and used in this state during the taxable year, and the 
denominator of which is the average value of all the company’s 
real and tangible property owned and used or rented and 
used during the taxable year and located everywhere; to the 
extent that such property is used to produce Virginia taxable 
income and is effectively connected with the conduct of a 
trade or business within the United States and income derived 
therefrom is includible in federal taxable income. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-409.)
Property owned by the company is valued at its original cost 
plus the cost of additions and improvements. Property rented 
by the company is valued at 8 times the property’s annual 
rental rate. (Va. Code § 58.1-410.)
The average value of property is determined by averaging 
the value at the beginning and ending of the tax period, but 
the Department may require the averaging of monthly values 
during the tax period if it is reasonably required to reflect 
properly the average value of the corporation’s property. (Va. 
Code § 58.1-411.)
Line 2b.  Payroll factor: The payroll factor is a fraction, the 
numerator of which is the total amount paid or accrued in this 
state during the tax period by the company for compensation, 
and the denominator of which is the total compensation paid 
or accrued everywhere during the tax period; to the extent 
that such payroll is used to produce Virginia taxable income 
and is effectively connected with the conduct of a trade or 
business within the United States, and the income derived is 
includible in federal taxable income. (Va. Code § 58.1-412.)
“Compensation” means wages, salaries, commissions, and 
any other form of remuneration that is paid or accrued to 
employees for personal services. (Va. Code § 58.1-302.)
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Compensation is paid or accrued in this state if:
(a)	 the employee’s service is performed entirely within the 

state; or
(b)	 the employee’s service is performed both within and 

without the state, but the service performed without the 
state is incidental to the employee’s service within the 
state; or

(c)	 some of the service is performed in the state and:
	 (i)	 the base of operations or, if there is no base of 

operations, the place from which the service is directed 
or controlled is in the state; or

	 (ii)	 the base of operations or the place from which 
the service is directed or controlled is not in any state 
in which some part of the service is performed, but the 
employee’s residence is in this state. (Va. Code § 58.1-
413.)

Line 2c:  Sales factor. The sales factor is a double-weighted 
in the three-factor formula which consists of sales, property 
and payroll factors.  The sales factor is a fraction, the 
numerator of which is the total sales of the company in this 
state during the tax period, and the denominator of which 
is the total sales of the company everywhere during the tax 
period, to the extent that such sales are used to produce 
Virginia taxable income and are effectively connected with 
the conduct of a trade or business within the United States 
and income derived is includible in federal taxable income. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-414.) “Sales” means all gross receipts of the 
company other than dividends, except that, in the case of the 
sale or other disposition of intangible property, only the net 
gain is included. Net gain is determined on a per transaction 
basis. (Va. Code § 58.1-302.)
Sales of tangible personal property are in this state if the 
property is received in this state by the purchaser. In the case 
of delivery by common carrier or other means of transportation, 
the place at which such property is ultimately received after 
all transportation has been completed is considered the place 
at which such property is received by the purchaser. Direct 
delivery in this state, other than for purposes of transportation, 
to a person or firm designated by a purchaser, constitutes 
delivery to the purchaser in this state, and such direct delivery 
outside of this state to a person or firm designated by the 
purchaser does not constitute delivery to the purchaser in this 
state, regardless of where title passes, or other conditions of 
sale. (Va. Code § 58.1-415.)
Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are in 
Virginia if: (a) the income-producing activity is performed in 
Virginia; or (b) the income-producing activity is performed in 
and outside of Virginia and a greater proportion of this activity 
is performed in Virginia than in any other state, based on costs 
of performance. (Va. Code § 58.1-416.)
Line 2d.  Standard Apportionment Sales Factor. Multiply 
Line 2c by 2 and enter the result. The sales factor is a double-
weighted.
Line 2e. Quadruple-Weighted Sales Factor Apportionment: 
If you are a PTE with an enterprise data center operation from 
July 1, 2016 until July 1, 2017, with an approved investment 



of at least $150 million, multiply the sales factor from Line 2(c) 
by 4. The sales factor is quadruple-weighted.
Line 2f.  Sum of Percentages. If the standard multi-state 
factor with double-weighted sales factor is used, add Lines 
2(a), 2(b) and 2(d).  If the PTE is using a quadruple-weighted 
sales factor, add Lines 2(a), 2(b) and Line 2(e).
Line 2g. Multifactor Percentage. Line 2(f) divided by 
the number 4 (doubled-weighted sales) or 6 (quadruple-
weighted) reduced by the number of factors, if any, having 
no denominator.
Standard apportionable income is apportioned by multiplying 
the income by a fraction, the numerator of which is the 
property factor plus the payroll factor, plus 2 times the sales 
factor, and the denominator of which is 4.  However, if the 
sales factor does not exist, the denominator of the fraction 
shall be the number of existing factors. If the sales factor 
exists, but the payroll factor or the property factor does not 
exist, the denominator of the fraction shall be the number of 
existing factors.  
Quadruple-Weighted Sales:  If the PTE is an enterprise 
data center operation which enters into a memorandum of 
understanding with VEDP to make a new capital investment 
of at least $150 million with a taxable year beginning on July 
1, 2016 and ending July 1, 2017, the numerator consists of 
the property factor, plus the payroll factor, plus 4 times the 
sales factor, and the denominator of which is 6.  If the sales 
factor does not exist, the denominator of the fraction shall be 
the number of existing factors. If the sales factor exists, but 
the payroll factor or the property factor does not exist, the 
denominator of the fraction shall be the number of existing 
factors (sales-1 factor, and payroll or property, if they exist, 
plus 3). Note: for taxable years beginning July 1, 2017 and 
thereafter, qualifying entities are required to use the single 
sales factor method to apportion Virginia taxable income.
Section C - Allocable and Apportionable Income.
Line 1.  Total of Taxable Income Amounts. Enter Total of 
Taxable Income Amounts from Form 502, Line 1.
Line 2.  Dividends. If the commercial domicile is in Virginia, 
enter the dividends received. Also, enter this amount on Form 
502, Line 4.
Line 3a.  Dividends-Commercial Domicile Is Not Virginia. 
If the PTE’s commercial domicile is not in Virginia, enter the 
dividends received.

Line 3b.  Nonapportionable Investment Function Income. 
Enter the nonapportionable investment function income from 
assets producing income serving an investment function 
unrelated to the operational functions of the business. 
Line 3c.  Subtotal. Add Lines 3a and 3b. 
Line 3d.  Nonapportionable Investment Function Loss.	
Enter the nonapportionable investment function loss from 
assets that are producing losses from an investment function 
unrelated to the operational functions of the business. 
Line 3e.  Allocable Income. Subtract Line 3d from Line 3c. 
Enter the amount on Form 502, Line 5.
Line 4.  Apportionable Income. If domiciled in Virginia, 
subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If not domiciled in Virginia, subtract 
Line 3e from Line 1.
Alternative method of allocation or apportionment.  If 
any company believes that the method of allocation or 
apportionment administered by the Department will subject 
it to taxation on a greater portion of its net income than is 
reasonably attributable to business or sources within this 
state, it is entitled to file with the Department a statement of 
its objections and of such alternative method of allocation 
or apportionment as it believes to be proper under the 
circumstances with such detail and proof and within such 
time as the Department may reasonably prescribe. If the 
Department concludes that the method of allocation or 
apportionment employed is, in fact, inapplicable or inequitable, 
it shall redetermine the taxable income by such other method 
of allocation or apportionment as seems best calculated 
to assign to Virginia for taxation the portion of the income 
reasonably attributable to business and sources within the 
Virginia, not exceeding, however, the amount which would be 
arrived at by application of the statutory rules for allocation or 
apportionment. (Va. Code § 58.1-421.)
A company requesting permission to use an alternative 
method of allocation or apportionment of income must comply 
with Virginia Corporation Income Tax Regulation 23 VAC 10-
120-130. The policy of the Department is that the statutory 
method is the most equitable method of determining the 
portion of a multistate company’s income that is attributable to 
business activity in Virginia. Permission to use an alternative 
method of allocation and apportionment will be granted only 
in extraordinary circumstances.
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